Top 10 Reasons The Weekend Rocked

Like the tiny moments between the moments are sometimes the best, sometimes it’s the little things over a weekend that make it awesome.*

Top 10 Reasons The Weekend Rocked

10.   I danced on Saturday. My fitness center  had a Zumbathon and I rocked the gym with over 100 other people. For two and half hours.

9.    Did you know 2.5 hours of Zumba dancing equals at least 1550 calories burned? So what if you can barely move the rest of the day…

8.   I have an excellent excuse to bake brownies now.

7.  I responded to a “need girl time” 911 and had two awesome hours of face-to-face girl chat.

My drink.

6.  I got a bit loopy during said girl chat because I ordered  a fruity beverage. It had a warning on it: “Limit two per person.” Luckily I only drank half…

5.  Have I mentioned I haven’t had more than a sip of liquor at a time in over four years, thanks to pregnancy, nursing, and it usually just makes me sleepy? Yummy…

4.  My son has spent most of the weekend in blue or purple. This meant ice cream, the park, lots of Trouble, and the pool.

3.  I Skyped with one of my Canadian sistahs.** For almost three hours. It’s like having girl chat, therapy, writing group, and a slumber party all at once. Minus the pizza.

2. My daughter did The Happy Spinning Dance of Joy with Arms Raised to greet me Sunday morning because…..

1.   My incredibly awesome husband scored major points for letting me sleep in. Until 11…something. I crawled out of bed rejuvenated in a way I haven’t been in weeks.

*Ignoring laundry and household chores also helped. Ooops.
** A “Canadian sistah” is one of those people you bond with who you could tell anything to, shares interests with you, and could practically be your twin. If you were blond. And tall. And Canadian. My two sistahs happen to be all three.

What moment(s)  helped make your weekend an awesome one?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Top 10 List and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Top 10 Reasons The Weekend Rocked

  1. mairedubhtx says:

    Being able to contact all of my CASA parents this weekend and setting up appointments with each of them was a big highlight of the weekend. I had wanted to do this before our court date and now I will be able to do so. Now if they take things seriously and work their service plans so they can get their children back…

  2. BalancingMama (Julie) says:

    Go you! Sounds like a lot of fun! And sleeping in? Divine!

  3. Angiemonster says:

    “5. Have I mentioned I haven’t had more than a sip of liquor at a time in over four years, thanks to pregnancy, nursing, and it usually just makes me sleepy? Yummy…”

    Spoken like a true retired party girl!

  4. Trish Loye Elliott says:

    I’m so glad your weekend was awesome and I’m glad the DH let you sleep in! That was a late night! What an awesome chat though and you’re right, we shouldn’t leave it so long until the next one! I can’t believe your drink came with a warning and a limit per customer. Good thing you didn’t finish it! Talk soon!

  5. Pingback: Lord of the Castle: Tacklerism Tuesday | Dances with Chaos

Leave a Reply

