Bits of Moments

I’m a bit sleep deprived.

All my fault.

Does my nocturnal self take a hint?

No.

My thoughts dwell on two fictional characters who live in my head and how their story will unfold next.

So today I give you bits of moments, tiny chunks of time running through my mind.

Bits of Moments

“Mommy Mommy!” Lil Diva tugs at my shorts until I offer my index finger.

She grabs tightly then pulls me to the front door. And giggles.

Another small tug, and she runs  back to the picnic table in the kitchen.

She stops she looks at me again, a giant grin on her face, nose wrinkled. “Heee!”

An emphatic grunt and we race again to the front door.

And back.

And front door.

And picnic table.

Her chuckles increase to uproarious laughter.

“Silly!” She shouts, so proud of her game.

“Very silly!” I say, as I wrap her into a hug, inhaling the remnants of her baby scent.

***

“Meow! Meow!” Lil Diva runs to me, reaching for my finger. Her tiny fist wraps around my middle finger and she drags me to the front door, pointing to our stoop.

A neighbor’s tabby cat eyes us warily, trying to guess if we’ll become a threat.

“Good job, sweetie! You found a kitty cat!”

Her grin bursts with pride as she releases my finger and crawls into the tiny window to communicate with “her kitty”.

***

“Mommy Mommy Mommy!” My four year son races into the hallway by our garage. Joy fills his face, eyes twinkling and I kneel down as he runs into my arms.

Lil Diva loves to hug her big brother.

I hold him tight, enjoying this rare greeting.

“Mommy I’m in PURPLE because I’ve been a good boy. I made mac ‘n cheese and had two pieces of candy and read lots of books and Bobbi says I’m a good boy.”

“You’re in PURPLE! I”m so proud of you! You must have made really good choices while I was gone.”

“I did!””

***

“Mommy, I’m going to stay in purple all day tomorrow. Then I can have ice cream again.”

“Sweetie, if you manage to stay in purple all day, there will certainly be ice cream in your future.”

“And then, in a hundred and two thousand and fifteen times I can have a Popsicle!

“If you’re in purple that long, we’d have to do something extra special. But a Popsicle sounds great.! As soon as our refrigerator gets fixed…

***

Did a moment of time grab you today?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Lil Diva, The Tackler and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Bits of Moments

  1. I love this. There are so many “Mommy Moments” pardon the pun I want to file away to help me remember later.

    Yesterday my little Sweet Pea said “waffle”. It was more like “waaafoo” but it was definitely waffle. It may not seem like much but since she’s almost two and a month ago she only had two words (mama and done) AND the hearing loss caused by the damage done through 20 ear infections and 2 bouts of pseudomonis I nearly burst into tears when she just came out with waffle!

    I hope I never forget that moment and I hope you never forget yours.

    Thank you for sharing.

  2. I love the moments. I have a little notebook just filled with them. Isn’t it amazing how a moment that grabs us and makes us – smile, cry, laugh, pick up the phone to share – can be so easily forgotten! Thank God for mom’s like you who write about them. Life is rich!

    • Amy – If I don’t write about them, I find they get lost in the Groundhog days and frustrations, which can so easily overwhelm my mommy brain memory. I’m trying to record more of these moments, because my Lil Diva will remind me how The Tackler used to do something, only I didn’t blog then and had forgotten. As she’s my last, I don’t want to forget these moments.

      You are one of the people who has always helped remind me to cherish the happy times, and let the bad go. Thank you for that.

  3. mairedubhtx says:

    A moment grabbed me yesterday when I went to visit one of my CASA kids. He’s only three and had just come home from half-day school. He was tired and had crawled into his little bed. He was so sweet and precious. It was a special moment.

  4. jmugan says:

    I told my son (age 3 at the time) not to kick the flowers because flowers are our friends. He said that flowers can’t be our friends. When I asked why, he said, “because flowers don’t have faces.”

  5. Stephanie says:

    Very sweet. 🙂 Your kiddies are so adorable!

  6. Many moments have grabbed me today . . . among them, these super-sweet excerpts. Thank you for the smiles 🙂

  7. I love Mommy moments – my own and reading about others. They’re just precious. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

