Bondage, Car Dancing, and Wrinkles: Tacklerism Tuesday

We have an older keyboard, a relic of the days we had actual PCs instead of laptops. It retired long ago when I switched to an ergonomic keyboard for long writing sessions.

It hangs out in my kitchen.

Don’t ask.

It is a favorite toy of Lil Diva’s.

But Monday, The Tackler swooped in, stole it, and put it to another purpose..

“I need to tie up Lil Diva because she makes poor choices at nap time.”

No Lil Divas or Tacklers were harmed in the making of these photos.

 

Following a brilliant escape by Lil Diva (i.e. “Let your sister out or I’ll take away the keyboard.”), the Tackler commandeered the chair and wrapped himself into it.

“I’m Buzz Lightyear and tied up in a box.”

He did the same thing last night with the swim bag’s strap on his arm in his car seat…

***

The Tackler sat at my mother’s kitchen table, hanging out with my G-ma. For whatever reason he told her:

“Your hands are all wrinkled. Because you’re a grandma like Grandma G.”

***

On the drive from Iowa to the Kansas City airport, I had plans.

They involved my children taking an extensive nap so I could write.

They napped about thirty to forty-five minutes total.

Lil Diva woke up, pissed about confinement. She wanted out.

The Tackler woke up, pissed we wouldn’t turn around and go back to Iowa.

Desperate I grabbed my brother’s iPod.

“Where’s that ‘hands up up’ song?”

“It’s called Louder.”

“Uh, who sings that?”

“Chris Willis.”

I thumbed through the iPod as Lil Diva’s wails increased.

I found the song.

We cranked it.

My brother and I “raised the roof”, our hands and arms almost smacking the car top as the chorus sang:

Put your hands up
If you feel me shout a little bit louder
Now put your hands up
If you can’t keep yourself from jumpin’ around
Put your hands up…

Lil Diva joined in.

The Tackler, still cranky and missing his Mimi, added his own twist, pretending to be asleep during the “down down” part during the stanzas then “waking up” during the chorus.

You really just have to witness it with your own eyes.*

We did this for at least forty-five minutes, the song on repeat.

We received many odd stares from truck drivers and SUVs.

We didn’t care.

We love to dance, even if it is while trapped in a car.

*I planned to show a quick video of The Tackler’s antics, but my internet (and cable TV) are down. I had to grab the laptop and hunt for wi-fi to get this already-written-just-missing-the-video-link-and-hitting-the-publish-button post uploaded. Sitting while I uploaded another video wasn’t an option.

***

What amusing things have your children done lately?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Tacklerisms and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Bondage, Car Dancing, and Wrinkles: Tacklerism Tuesday

  1. Best use of an autotuned song EVER. Even I want to dance now, and I’m half asleep! Adorable.

  2. Forty-five minutes. Do you still have hair on your heads? Wow. 😉

  3. Kim says:

    Me and the kiddos always dance in the car!!! Good times!

  4. I’m Buzz Lightyear and I’m tied in a box…

    LOVE it.

    And you are a stone cold hero for car-dancing for forty five minutes.
    Really. A hero, I say.

    • My son loves to re-enact movie scenes.

      LOVES it.

      I have to edit his TV very carefully.

      Would you like me less if I confessed I actually like car dancing, especially with my brother?

      The faces of the people passing us were absolutely priceless.

  5. Bruna says:

    Crazy the things we do as parents to keep our children entertained and happy. Loved the video!

  6. Amy says:

    Doesn’t everyone car dance? We usually rock out to HSM3.

  7. Sarah says:

    This is awesome. I’m just glad to know that I’m not the ONLY parent with children who try to tie each other up! I had to commandeer ALL jumpropes last summer because they were perpetually asking me to undo the knots! Oops… I mean, because it’s WRONG to let your children tie each other up… 🙂

  8. Ali says:

    That baby is rockin! How fun. We like to rock out to Dave Matthews in our car.

  9. Virgil says:

    You must spent a lot of time writing articles on your site, you can save a lot of
    time, just type in google:
    treoughan’s rewriter

  10. Frederick says:

    If you are interested in topic: earn money online typing captcha word – you should read about Bucksflooder
    first

Leave a Reply

