The Adrenaline Rush of Parenting – A Visit from the Six Ring Circus

Today we have a post by one of my newer “discoveries”. Annie of Six Ring Circus lives in the heartland, makes me homesick upon occasion, and slaughters me in Scrabble-like games. She’s a mother who tells it like it is and has a Tackler of her own (plus three other children).

And? She’s hilarious.

Enjoy.

***

The Doc and I were leaning into the bathroom mirror to groom our faces. Taz, our 3-year-old, perched himself on the side of the tub in the master bathroom, and teetered back and forth like he was on a swing. In the blink of my one single mascara coated eye, he crashed over backwards into the tub. The thud shook the pictures on the wall and rattled the shampoo bottles. All I could see of the child was two small bare feet sticking straight in the air.

“Are you okay, buddy?” my heart stopped and I momentarily quit breathing. Taz did not immediately answer. “Did you crack your head?” I asked as I rushed over to him.

His blond head popped up and he shook off the buzz. “No, I not crack my head. I crack my BUTT,” he exclaimed as he rubbed his tailbone.

I breathed again and laughed. Crisis averted.

With one miniature human crash landing into the tub, my heart had gone from zero to sixty in half a second. It was an adrenaline rush. Tell me that isnʼt similar to bungee jumping. It may not be as glamorous but it gets your heart racing just the same. Itʼs no wonder my thyroid decided to check out after my fourth child was born.

Parenting also takes a person in a monotonous circle. Even that requires adrenaline, the kind of adrenaline rush you need to dig deep to find. Around and around goes the schedule. Cook breakfast, clean, break up fight, comfort crying child, put child in time out, do laundry, fix lunch, ignore whining, discipline child, ignore clutter, cook supper, help with homework, bathe children, sleep, repeat.

When I became a parent I was surprised at how mentally difficult it can be. I arm myself with coffee, regular therapy (ranting) sessions with a friend, pointless drives to “get out of the house,” and a good supply of ibuprofen.

Sometimes I yell into the wind. I once stepped outside, threw my head back, and yelled to anyone listening, “WHY is there PEANUT BUTTER all over the SOOOFFFAAA!” I knew no one would answer, but I yelled anyway. It felt good.

On the days I struggle to pull it all together I find myself driving through for a McCafe.

Three times. In one day. The drive-thru McEmployee and I have a special handshake now.

It has been said anything worth doing isn’t easy, and this is certainly true of parenthood.

Along with all the sweat, snot, and tears there is a huge amount of joy, overwhelming love, and a regular adrenaline rush. Today my tenacious Taz crashed into the bathtub and made my hairs stand on end. Who knows what tomorrow will bring but Iʼm prepared.

Iʼve got band-aids, a doctor on speed dial, and wine in the fridge.

***

Annie went to college, locked eyes with a handsome man in her anatomy class, and got married. Before she knew it she was a stay-at-home mother to four energetic children and her college degree was collecting dust in a drawer. She blogs for a creative outlet and tries to be the ringmaster of her six ring circus.

Sometimes it just feels like she’s shoveling elephant poop.

Be sure to check out her blog, especially the post on how formaldehyde and mono somehow added up to true love.

You just can’t make this stuff up.

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Guest Blog and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Adrenaline Rush of Parenting – A Visit from the Six Ring Circus

  1. Ah, Taz. That little man keeps you on your toes, doesn’t he?

    I like that you and the drive-thru employees have your own special McHandShake. Wonder if they say to one another, “Hey, here’s that one mom again. I bet she found peanut butter on the sofa.”

    • Annie says:

      LOL I’ve got the drive-thru so confused now. I recently did a coffee-detox and traded my regular coffee for iced tea. I’m just trying to keep their job interesting.

      Taz is a spunky kid. He is the one turning my hairs gray!

  2. Pingback: Guest Posting at Dances With Chaos « Six Ring Circus

  3. Bellymonster says:

    I read the “I’ve given up coffee” bit and almost spit out my own. You are a brave, brave Mama.

    Love the hollering about the peanut butter. LOVE it – it makes me know I’m not alone and that I am perhaps not the only person who places pillows in order to hide stains and tears.

    • Annie says:

      Having a loud vocal outburst is cleansing.

      I’ve given up strategically placing the pillows. Too many stains. At this point I need to strike a match and set the sofa on fire.

  4. Since I became a parent, I haven’t been on a serious rollercoaster.

    Who needs one when you have peanut butter?And a couch?

    “I crack my butt” cracked me up. So glad he is okay, though.

    Well enough to smear Skippy on your furniture another day….

    • Annie says:

      Exactly. Who needs an amusement park when you have children? Although park tickets are cheaper…

      It is a blessing to have children healthy enough to mess up the house! Love that.

  5. I should try that yelling into the wind thing some time:

    WHY IS IT SO FRIGGIN’ HARD TO LOAD THE DISHWASHER?
    WHO LEFT THE EMPTY BOX IN THE FREEZER?
    WET TOWELS DON’T GO IN THE HAMPER!

    Glad your little boy only cracked his butt in his tumble!

    Fun post, Annie!

    Wendy

Leave a Reply

