Five Reasons Why….

Wednesday morning unfolded like a parenting travel horror movie. The title?

Murphy Attacks Unsuspecting Parent Stupid Enough to Fly Alone

Curious? Be sure to come back Friday for “what the frak…?”

Murphy wasn’t done with me yet.

My brother and I stopped at a Chik-Fil-A to let the kids burn off pent up energy so they could sleep in the car.

The good news? They did both sleep in the car, as the afternoon gradually got better.

The bad news? The Tackler got into two brawls miraculously out of my view (it was lunch time, someone had a party there: 25 kids ran amok, insanity) where a parent told me he punched some kids and was punched in return. Then bit. Hard.

It almost broke the skin and he’s gonna have one hell of a bruise.

So I asked myself: WHY?

Why do I bother to put myself into this travel situation, when I know it holds such a high probability of turning into a train wreck?

5 Reasons Why I Challenged the Train Wreck

1.   I have crappy lottery luck. Any luck really. But the odds dictate I can’t always lose, so I roll the dice and pray because at some point I’m going to win…

2.  There is this:

Already learning to drive.... the mower.

3.  And this:

It took about fifteen minutes to warm up, then Lil Diva claimed Mimi for her own.

4. And this:

The look on the Tackler's face says it all.

5. And this:

Watching her willingly grab my dad's hand to hold, after only two hours with him - it's what makes this trip worthwhile.

I just hope I’m not a candidate for the loony bin when I’m done. I wrote this before our first vacation bedtime. I have no idea how the night will go….

Still, these shots are from the first few hours. Imagine what moments will pop up in the coming days.

Assuming the weather people are wrong and it doesn’t rain for the next week….

Send cloud clearing thoughts to Iowa (blow them to Texas).

Happy Thursday all!

Why do YOU attempt vacations and trips with young children when you know the probability is high it will end in disaster, the urge to sleep for a week, and declarations to “NEVER do this again.??

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Top 5 Lessons, Vacation and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Five Reasons Why….

  1. Terrific pictures, Kelly. That’s why.

  2. Annie says:

    for the memories 🙂

    Some of my best childhood memories are of road trips with my parents. The moments weren’t always pleasant at the time (like me barfing on my own lap in Nebraska) but they are hilarious now!

    Love the pictures!

    • I hated road trips. Hated them. They were highly stressful excursions where you had to request a pee break 45 minutes in advance or pray for the car to need gas – my father a firm believer in not stopping at all until you reach a destination.

      That being said, I have wonderful memories of trips to see family or vacations. It was just the whole travel part that sucked.

      Anxiously awaiting a teleporter.

      Ew.. barfing on your lap?

      I don’t know if I could ever find that hilarious…

  3. John says:

    Truly terrific pictures. I like to think that we take trips & vacations with the little ones so that they see the people & places that we enjoy. Hammer that into their minds from a young age, so that when the time comes, you can still enjoy those people & places together (because lord knows you don’t fully enjoy them when they’re still young).

    • I love Texas, but I hate living so far away from family. I wish we lived close, so saying hi didn’t involved suitcases, insanely long road trips, or expensive flights.

      I want vacations to be VACATIONS, to a destination different. I want family time to be “normal”.

      I’m still trying to convince them to move to Texas… Or at least winter there..

  4. Kristina says:

    Love the pics – especially Diva and Mimi. 🙂

  5. Kir says:

    love that it might just be worth the visit. 😉

    the pictures are gorgeous!!!! hope the visit is too.

    • Thursday was awesome. Wednesday night not too bad either – the weather was cool and perfect and I’ve hardly seen my laptop because we’ve spent every moment possibly outside enjoying it – before the downpours of these next few days (starting this AM).

      Here’s hoping we survive days of rain and find a place to burn off steam without another brawl…

  6. Nothing like family love.

    Nothing.

    Soak it all up…

  7. Ode to extended family. I can’t wait to soak it up.

    It is worth it. The good stuff always is.

  8. Bellymonster says:

    Those photos say it all. Happy memory-making, Mama! xo

  9. I’m with everyone else. The damn photos. You know your kids are going to just love looking at them one day. 😉

  10. May says:

    Last summer we took what is probably the last trip where I can shove my three nearly grown kids into the van for the long haul. It made me long for the days of dragging car seats through airports and sitting with barfy kids in the back of the van as it blasts down the highway! All you have to do is see those pics to know THESE are the good ol’ days!

Leave a Reply

