Top 10 Awesome Things From This Weekend

1.   Attending a birthday party… for an adult.

A friend of mine (and his family) decided to grill burgers and hot dogs and invite The Gang over on one of the most perfect May afternoons possible in this part of Texas. The kids ran amok outside and played Wii. The adults conversed and drank…

It was just like the original Blues Brothers and getting the band back together of our old crew…. just minus actually playing instruments, singing, and a homicidal Carrie Fisher.

2.   My dear friend Rama topped her previous batch of Awesome Chocolate Cupcakes and brought them to the party.

I selfishly devoured two of them.

I wanted more.

3.   Discovering my son loves baseball.

I just hope he doesn't picture the ball is Lil Diva's head...

He doesn’t watch it. Or understand the rules. But give him a foam bat and pitch to him, and the boy is in heaven. Also? The kid can hit, given before Friday, he had only tried once before. Who knew?

4.   I finally received the last of the guest posts for the next two weeks.

I’m still laughing.

I’m jetting off to Iowa this week, just the kids and me, sans Computer God.

I’m scared of what Murphy might toss my way, but determined to use my son’s bat on him if he dares frak with my trip.

My parents, the g-rents, my sister and brother are over the moon and salivating to spoil my children rotten.

Still, no CG to help if Murphy robs us of sleep like at Christmas.

So, for the next two weeks, this blog with have a mix of a posts by me and some amazingly awesome bloggers. You’ll get to read posts from: Natalie from Mommy of a Monster (and Twins), Leanne from Ironic Mom, Chase from Some Species Eat Their Young, Annie from Six Ring Circus, and Kristina from The Ten Minute Missive.

You won’t want to miss it.

5.   The Tackler was An Angel on Saturday. And at least an Honorary Angel on Sunday.

Nothing makes a weekend more enjoyable, than the ability to enjoy your 4 year old instead of battling with him.

To my 4 year old, it doesn't matter if the word cuts off in the middle and resumes elsewhere.

Who knew writing out every word that rhymed with “ash” on a magnedoodle could be so fun?

Or playing Candyland for the zillionth time?

Or listening to a lecture on how your body works, Tackler Style, as he gave his rendition of how food turned into excrement?

6.   Seeing this face on your baby, who is suddenly 20 months old:

I love it.

Nuff said.

7.   A long day date with my husband.

The same aforementioned Rama of the Awesome Cupcakes, also is The Awesome Rama Who Watched Our Children for six hours on Sunday.

It was “payback” for taking her older boy for a weekend almost a year ago. Still, four kids for six hours…. She’s The Awesome.

Luckily, Lil Diva napped.

I’m told my children were quite angelic for her, although Rama = Mommy to Lil Diva and if Rama strayed out of view, my Lil Diva let her displeasure be known.

Meanwhile, my husband and I?

We basked in the uncharacteristic beautiful weather: tossing an Aerobie at our park, lounging in the soft grass in the shade, and having a picnic.

We talked.

We laughed.

We enjoyed each other.

It was perfect.

8.   I did laundry and am partially organized for my trip this week.

I had the windows open and a gorgeous breeze blowing into my room, as I sorted clothes, folded, and picked out outfits.

It almost didn’t feel like work.

Catching up on Glee, Grey’s Anatomy, and Bones didn’t hurt.

And now? I have less to do during the last minute on Tuesday, which is a bit of a special day in the House of Chaos (more on Tuesday).

Go me.

9.   My friend Bobbi made my absolute favorite french dips for the whole family on Friday night.

I have never had a better one in any restaurant.

They are that good.

Yummy.

Even better? I have the leftover au jus. It’s the gift that just keeps on giving.

Now I just need more meat to go with it…

10.   I attended Live Mom’s Bloggin’ Mama Social on Saturday night.

The awesome Christina picked me up from the birthday party.

She nearly went three rounds with the built-in GPS of the car too, but that’s another story.

Leigh Ann makes sure no one steals her wine..

There was food, wine, music, swag, a silent auction, an fabulous monologue from Jill of the Biscuit Brothers, and awesome ladies to chat with.

I found another fellow sci-fi geek.

Christina had to drag me away…..

One conversation inspired me. I have a third blog in the works (yes, I’m crazy), but no time to set it up yet.

It could be awesome. It could be a fail. Time will tell.

I hope everyone else had an amazing weekend too.

What did you do or experience this weekend that was a perfect moment?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in The Tackler, Top 10 List and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Top 10 Awesome Things From This Weekend

  1. Bellymonster says:

    Am grinning, reading this. Sounds like the stars aligned and gave you the gift of gratitude this weekend. Tons to be grateful for!

    My perfect? Well, I finally got around to putting the winter stuff away and am amazed at how airy and spacious my side porch is. I’d forgotten. AND, I saw a white wicker rocking chair that would fit perfectly in the corner of newly-swept porch…

    It’s the small stuff around here.

    Will warn that darned Murphy that you’re toting a bat. What a GREAT mental picture! Have a great trip!

  2. John says:

    Sounds like a great weekend . . . I convinced both kids to nap on me Sunday – for almost two hours. It was magical silence . . . until the 90 minute mark hit and I had to pee, but getting up simply would not do.

    Safe travels ahead!

    • Ah yes… the classic “I have sleeping children and need to pee” dilemma. Always a “damn if you, will likely pee pants if you don’t” situation.

      I find child “dead arm” is also a danger – where it goes completely numb from their weight and immobility….

  3. Is the new blog deliciously nerdified? 😀

    Have a great trip!

  4. I’m so glad you had a perfect weekend. Honestly, my son has these ridiculously clownish shoes. They were hand-me-downs from a kid who NEVER wore them. They were custom made for the dudem, but he hated them because they are red white and royal blue. Yup. Clown shoes.

    Ahyway, my son fences. And this weekend, his foot suddenly didn’t fit into his fencing sneakers. (How does that happen? Friday, good. Saturday, not so good?) Anyway, all we had were the clown shoes. He put them on. With royal blue socks. (you now, to match.) And he kicked ass. (And by kicking ass, I mean he did better than he ever had before: he did not win, but he did not come in last place.) Meanwhile, everyone commented on his shoes. And he loved getting the attention.

    Stupid as it sounds, it made for a great weekend moment.

    Ya know, I may have to steal this and cut and paste it into my own blog. 😉 Thanks for the writing prompt!

    • I love the clown shoes story!

      Maybe his feet swelled??? Did they go back to the smaller size?

      You never know what moment will be great. That weekend was fabulous.

      This one.. more of a roller coaster feel, with extreme highs and lows.

  5. Annie says:

    Sounds like a wonderful weekend!

    We start T-ball soon and our 6-year-old loves it. Soon you will be watching tackler run the bases backwards. 😉

    Enjoy your trip!! Excited for you.

    • Backwards? Interesting.

      So far he isn’t in any team sports. His attention span can be finicky if not in the mood, and a lot of teams he wouldn’t get enough one on one attention to hold his interest. Maybe in another year.

      We’ll keep up the batting practice.

  6. Smiles, Smiles everyone! (I know, sounds like Fantasy Island, but you made me so happy with this post.)

    Have a wonderful time.

    Spoiling is nice on rare occasions.

    Or always.

    XO

  7. educlaytion says:

    Tackler likes baseball? Nice! Start pitching to him now but, uh, watch out for your lamps.

  8. Ixy says:

    Aw, I need a date like that with my husband. It sounds amazing. Hope you had (are having?) fun in Iowa and you didn’t have to administer any beatings to Murphy!

Leave a Reply

