Mommy EnTANGLEDment: Tacklerism Tuesday

Both of my children love the movie Tangled. Needless to say, I can quote most of it, even though we’ve owned it only a short time.

On Mother’s Day I tweeted:

“My son is playing with my hair and whispering the magic Tangled hair glowing song.”

My hair was down, free from its usual ponytail. My son, his plastic toy saw in hand for “scissors”, suddenly inspired to transform me into Rapunzel.

I think he played my “mother”.

Our exchange unfolded as followed.

The Tackler plots his next way to render me bald.

Me: “Please be gentle. It really hurts if you pull my hair.”

The Tackler: “I’m trying to cut your hair and make you young so you’re a baby. Baby sister likes babies.”

Me: “Uh. Okaaay.”

A few minutes pass.

Me: “OW!”

The Tackler: “I’m pulling your hair. I’m trying to make your hair even bigger. I’m making it long. I’m helping it grow.”

Me: “You can only play with my hair if you’re gentle. I need my hair.”

The Tackler: Quietly “fluffs” my hair, certain to be a perfect 1980’s stylist if only armed with a can of Aquanet.

Me: “Why are you doing this to my hair again?”

The Tackler: “When you were six you had really long hair just like the lost princess.”

Me: “I see.”

A few minutes pass as he sings the song to make my hair glow.

Me: “OW! Please don’t yank out my hair!”

The Tackler: “When it gets cut it turns brown and black. I just cut one little piece off of your hair with my saw.”

Me: “My hair was never blond. Daddy’s was. Maybe you should cut his hair.”

The Tackler: “Daddy’s hair isn’t long.”

He “styled” my hair for thirty minutes – my patience at times a mere thread, much like the tiny hairs piling up from his “treatment”.

Except for the whole “if this keeps up I’ll go bald” worry, his attention and words were just too cute – so I tolerated the less pleasant moments.

It is now a new favorite game, if I’m insane enough to leave my hair down.

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Tacklerisms, The Tackler and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Mommy EnTANGLEDment: Tacklerism Tuesday

  1. This is feakin’ hilarious. Why oh why didn’t anyone think to videotape this whole event?

    I am in love with this.

    The Tackler sounds like he’s got a little bit of Sweeney Todd in him. 😉

    • The lack of video tape has to do with the “Mommy needs a shower and looks like crap” on Mother’s Day issue. I waited because we went to the pool later in the afternoon.

      Not mentioned: I used my iPod during this time to distract me from the tiny fibers being ripped from my head – and to record his words verbatim because my memory… not so good.

      Glad you had a laugh from it today!

  2. Annie says:

    OH, flashbacks! My daughter could spend hours torturing my scalp when she was that age. Now having her brush my hair feels amazing.

    I love how he used a saw. Very creative…and masculine.

  3. John says:

    I am not looking forward to the days where my kids watch the same movie over & over & over again . . . and I know they’re going to, because I’m reading the same 3 books over & over & over again (until the books magically disappears). I know the repeated watching of movies is going to become a regular weapon in my fight to maintain my sanity, but…geez.

    Still, though, it’s quite rude of you to not have hair that doesn’t grow on demand :-p

    • You learned something very quickly: do not show your child anything you do no wish to see repeated 5000 times. This includes, movies, games, making them fly like an airplane (quite the arm workout), or anything else they can possibly obsess over.

      That being said, the magical movie can be a lifesaver – especially when either you or the child is sick…

      Just choose wisely.

  4. Bellymonster says:

    I love when my boys make me “look pretty!” I especially love when they use tools to do so. Saw cut, indeed!

  5. Paige Morgan says:

    My daughter likes to me wear my hear down so that she can pull it forward, in front of my shoulders. Emphasis on the word pull…

    I feel your pain!

  6. kir says:

    After Tangled my sons are fascinated with my hair too…but it’s so short they get annoyed and leave, giggle.
    I’m gladyou are having these times with him..even if he is going to pull ur hair. 😉

  7. educlaytion says:

    Nice. Tangled rocks and I have a special affinity for Flynn. We watched it on Mother’s Day as well, the whole family. Ironically, My sister had to have a toy train cut out of her hair that day as little niece got a bit too close with those moving parts. Fun times!

  8. Hilarious. I can just see it.

    I make my kids play with my hair sometimes. Comb it, pull it, whatever.

  9. Bruna says:

    That is cute. My girls love the movie too. Neither of them have attempted to do my hair in lieu of seeing the movie though.

  10. We love that movie here too! Loved the bit about the toy saw…boys.
    Just stopping by from Bees with Honey.

  11. Those toy saws are versatile. They can be used at hammers and butter knifes, as well.

    Your patience is commendable.

  12. Tiffany says:

    Awww, that is so sweet! ((BIG Smile!))

    We, too, are in a Tangled phase at our house. My 3 year old son will come and tell me “I didn’t want to have to do this, but you leave me no choice. Here comes the smolder.” and then he gives me his best smolder. It’s adorable!

    My 5 year old daughter spends much of her time hitting said 3 year old with a toy frying pan from her kitchen set. That is not so adorable.

  13. Jessica says:

    This is adorable that he wants to do your hair but I don’t think I could handle it for too long with all the hair pulling. Good luck. Hopefully he doesn’t want to start doing your makeup. You might be bald and colorful.

Leave a Reply

