Wrestling the Anaconda: Tacklerism Tuesday

On Friday, I wrote on Twitter and Facebook:

“My son is wrestling with the tape measure like it’s a giant anaconda. Absolutely hilarious.”

Step 1: Grab "anaconda" between your legs.

My husband replied: “Tape measures are sharp.

As though I have never been in the presence of a tape measure.

My response? “Then he’ll learn not to wrestle with it anymore.

So I won’t win Mother of the Year any time soon, but I know my son. I know warning him to “be careful” does absolutely nothing.

Step 2: Tackle it.

Not when the alternative is to cease wrestling with a tape measure.

For thirty minutes straight.

Step 3: Discover you are evenly matched as the Battle for Dominance rages - until Lil Diva wakes up and "evil" mommy cages the anaconda on top of the fridge.

What funny/crazy things have your kids done/said recently?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Tacklerisms, The Tackler and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Wrestling the Anaconda: Tacklerism Tuesday

  1. John says:

    Wow, that tackler is a cutie. I tried to write about it before, but cute always trumps injury (you were smart enough to have the camera ready): http://daddyrunsalot.com/2011/04/06/cute-trumps-concussion-right

    • Capturing this moment was helped greatly by him playing with it for over 30 minutes straight. I’m certain he wouldn’t have stopped, had the Lil Diva not woken up and I forced him to stop (through MUCH protest, resulting in a time out, I believe).

      Because while it’s OK for him to wrestle alone, the Lil Diva does not understand the dangers of the tape measure, or her brother’s likelihood to use it as weapon if she’s around…

  2. “Then he’ll learn not to wrestle with it anymore.“

    THIS.

    I think I heart you even more now!

    Awesome pics! Would show them to my spawn for her amusement except that Daddy’s got her in time out before going to school right now because there have been ISSUES this morning. She’d have giggled though.

    • You can always show them to her later.

      I have realized sometimes… the kids must learn their own lesson. Within certain guidelines, of course, but he was just wrestling with it – not letting it zoom back into the dispenser at top speed.

      He likes to pull it out to “100”.

      Four year olds can be such a great source of entertainment…

  3. My son once grabbed an apparatus meant to suck the air from an open bottle of wine for re-corking, applied it to his face and pumped furiously away while I giggled hysterically.

    He ended up with a giant chin-hickey.

    And never did it again.

    I’m not competing for mother of the year either. (but I do like to laugh.)

  4. Liz says:

    It’s so great when they find something random that entertains them for hours. I have the same approach- unless I think that there is an imminent horrible risk, I let them try it out, and figure it out. Because if little people are hell bent on playing with the tape measure, none of your warnings are going to stop them. Congrats on the 30 minutes of peace!

Leave a Reply

