Absence Causes Grandchildren Withdrawal and Turns My Daughter Into Easter Bunny

Easter is this Sunday.

I have no idea what we’re doing. Something with eggs, perhaps?

My mother, aka “Mimi” called me.

“There’s a package on the way for the kids. I hope you like it.”

“Okay.”

A few days later.

“Have you gotten the package yet?”

“Nope.”

“There’s another one on the way.”

“What?”

“I bought some more gifts for Easter. They should be there Friday or Monday.”

“Uh. Okay.”

A few days later.

“Have you gotten the package yet?”

“Yup, I meant to call you.”

“Have you opened it?”

“Nope, the timing hasn’t been right. I want both kids to be around to open and give them time to play with it.”

“I don’t know why I send you things if you aren’t going to open them.”

“I will, Mom. I’ll try to Facetime with you when I do.”

“There’s some assembly required, so you should do it before bed.”

“We’ll see.”

“Have you gotten the other package?”

“Not yet, Mother.”

A day later I called her Facetime after the “big” gift was assembled: a mini trampoline.

"Mommy! Look how high I can jump!"

“It took an hour for The Tackler and me to put it together. He was a great help. He helped screw in all the screws.”

“An hour?”

“Yes, part of the assembly was weaving the bungee cord around the frame and the mesh – it took forever.”

“Oh, it looked easy on the box.”

“Boxes lie. But awesome gift.”

And it is. Anything for my children to expunge energy indoors while it’s over 100 degrees out this summer is a wonderful thing.

The problem? Lil Diva loves to gnaw the blue foam padding. There are a few chunks missing after only a week assembled.

Because nothing says "tasty" like blue foam.

Also? The Lil Diva is in the process of learning the meaning of “taking turns”.

"I see you Mommy!"

This also applies to the other package we received Monday.

I called my mother.

“Mom, we’re ready to open the presents.”

“I’m in a blizzard in Minnesota. We’re at a funeral today.”

“Oh. Well, Lil Diva’s seen the packages and chanting “ball” already. I can’t take them away now.”

“Record it for us.”

“Okay.”

So I did. No one was more shocked than I when she succeeded in placing her gift on her head the first try.

A similar conversation occurred when The Tackler arrived at home from preschool – my mother was still on the way back from Minnesota.

His gift opening was also recorded. There is nothing like 4 year old enthusiasm.

She thought these ears were Da Bomb.

Then last night, the final gift: a joint one.

Another Facetime to share the opening. Then an evil Mommy demanded a cleaning of the playroom before the gift could be put to use.

An hour later, The Tackler finally caved, cleaned the room, and spent thirty minutes shooting his new rocket into our ceiling as my parents laughed at his antics.

Now if it would just cool off and stop having 20+ mph winds, we could take it to the field at the park and see what heights we could truly reach.

Thanks, Mimi, for the wonderful gifts – the kids are having a blast.

Both kids love to stomp on the reb bulb to shoot the rocket into the air, although Lil Diva' doesn't have quite the punch of the full body double foot jump of her brother.

Now if I could just keep Lil Diva from eating them all…

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in random thoughts, Video and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Absence Causes Grandchildren Withdrawal and Turns My Daughter Into Easter Bunny

  1. Did you get a new camera??? AND WOW! Mimi certainly knows how to buy AMAZING gifts. You are very lucky!

    • No new camera. You’ll notice in any “good” shots my children are all wearing the same outfit – from Friday when I borrowed my friend’s camera. The last two photos are grainy iPod camera ones, because my children do not hold still… (sigh).

      Our camera is being sent away to Canon today, where they “might” be able to fix it for less than the cost of new one…

      Yes, Mimi hit the gifts out of the park this round. She visited an “educational” toy store and had some very cool things to select from.

      It doesn’t hurt she’s going through grandchildren withdrawal…

  2. John says:

    Can I have your mother? Great gifts, and so great to see the kids enjoying them. Foam is quite tasty when seasoned properly, by the way.

    • What seasoning goes well with foam? Lil Diva preferred hers “dry”. Is that why people like rice cakes?

      Yes, my mother is awesome, and I greatly approve of these – because most of them aren’t random toys to join floor clutter.

      I do think I might need to invest in a helmet. Make that helmets.

  3. That trampoline looks like fun. Cute bunny ears. Those rocket things drive me nuts 😀

  4. I miss my boys loving the whole idea of just opening the gift. Thanks for allowing me a glimpse into your children’s joys. I bet Mimi loved watching it too!

    • The magic you have as a child is one of the things I love seeing as a parent.

      My mother called me up, giving this post a rave review. I blog for me, but also to share these things with the far away family as well. I just hope the non-family members enjoy the posts too, and aren’t bored. 🙂

      Thanks for letting me know you found joy in it too.

  5. educlaytion says:

    Ha, that cute lil diva reminds me of George the Animal Steele who used to eat the padding inside turnbuckles at wrestling matches. He wasn’t cute though.

  6. julie says:

    I can’t stop smiling – the fact that he’s wearing a Buzz Lightyear shirt WHILE opening his Toy Story ball?

    Perfection.

    My son is almost 14 and lived in his Buzz Lightyear shirt.

    How cool that a decade later, he still brings that much joy?

    Buzz Lightyear, I mean. not my son. He makes me smile, too. But…he also doesn’t like to brush his teeth…

    • My son LOVES Buzz Lightyear, although lately he’s been losing time to The DC Superfriends (stupid computer games.. I much preferred Buzz).

      Oh, the Christmas he received the Buzz doll. Then the next Christmas where he got the “hard to find ridiculously priced CIRCLE Buzz” (the Toy Story 2 one from Al’s Toy Barn)…. Buzz has brought more joy and imaginative play time to my son.

      It’s hard to believe it was that long ago the first one came out. Wow.

      I’m glad this made you smile.

      My son likes to brush to teeth.. So far.

  7. Annie says:

    Super cute kids! Lil Diva getting those ears on first try was adorable.

    We have these foam sticks that you build forts with and every single one has a bite out of it. Kids and their oral fixation!!

    The grandparents sure know how to pick great gifts.

  8. super cute. nice to stop by again and say hi from the red dress club link up x

  9. Leighann says:

    That trampoline is a great idea.
    It’s just starting to warm up here.

  10. Frelle says:

    oh the frustration on both counts… with the eating of foam and the lack of patience 😉

  11. Anastasia says:

    My daughter gnaws on everything too! They are adorable.

  12. That mini-tramp is awesome. Is it holding up?

  13. May says:

    A life where a Buzz and Woody ball can make you that happy is a pretty darned good life indeed!

    • I miss that joy already. While he was still excited last Christmas, he loved to say after every gift (his and everyone else’s) “I knew I/you was/were going to get that!” As though he is psychic. Still joy, but different now that he’s almost six.

Leave a Reply

