Birthday Boy in the Mirror – Trapped in Time Moment and Part 3 of Exorcising Terrible Threes

We travel back two months for this week’s photo – because my camera is still broken.

It’s killing me.

The moment this week is one I’ve meant to blog about for… well.. almost two months.

This year my son did not have a 4th birthday party.

January and early February were plagued with behavioral problems, particularly at my gym’s child care. He was banned several times for pushing, hitting, tackling, and once punching other kids.

I warned him if he continued, no party would occur.

He continued, banned a 4th time just four days before his birthday.

I kept my word.

Instead, my dear friend Rama offered her house for a gathering of her family and mine. I brought the food, she provided a location my son enjoys more than any party place.

If you’re knew to my blog, my son miraculously exorcised the terrible three’s as he turned 4.

The day of his birthday was a blast, only celebrated between CG, me, Lil Diva, Grandma G (my mother-in-law) – with a cameo appearance over Skype with my parents, brother, and grandparents.

The next day we drove to Rama’s house.

Our sons ran amok.

We ate pizza.

We devoured cupcakes.

He manages not to spit all over the cupcakes while blowing out the candles.

Everyone ran amok.

The Tackler and his buddy play a game of running and crashing.

Another perfect day, just like the day of his birthday.

At only 17 months Lil Diva creates a soccer-baseball fusion game.

We still have rough patches, the occasional meltdown, and waking up on the wrong side of the bed.

All in all, life has dramatically improved since The Tackler reached his 4th birthday.

I do not miss the terrible three’s.

At all.

Trapped in Time Moment: The Birthday Boy in the Mirror

So tell us, CG, who won the Back in Time Caption Contest featuring my 2 year old self in pajamas and G-pa’s work boots?

CG: I pick Ilana from Mommy Shorts caption of “Whose up for fly fishing?” Of all the submissions, this one provides the most amusing visual, and the one that I can see reproduced in my kids today.

Congratulations Ilana! You win the coveted Chaos Captioning Cup and the privilege of judging today’s winner (of a contest already modeled after your own).

So tell me, what did The Tackler say to himself in the mirror?

"Dude, you could totally pass for a 5 year old. The cupcake adds a year."

Put your suggestion in the comments below and Ilana will judge the winner.

Have fun with this and pass it on!

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in The Tackler and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Birthday Boy in the Mirror – Trapped in Time Moment and Part 3 of Exorcising Terrible Threes

  1. Kim Woehl says:

    No, you go first.

  2. Totally jealous.. your mirror isn’t covered in toothpaste. 😉

  3. John says:

    I think so, Brain, but how will we get three pink flamingos into one pair of Capri pants?

  4. I am SO HAPPY for you that the terrible threes are slowly losing steam at your house. You definitely needed a break! Though I wonder how your little Diva will be when her turn comes??? Good luck with that!

    • My Lil Diva will either be terrible in her early years, or in her tween/teen years. I don’t think she’s evil enough to do both.

      I think she might save it up.

      I’m not sure I like that idea.

      Right now she works the kisses and the grins to melt you to her wishes.

  5. marinasleeps says:

    My caption: “No you’re good looking … no you are good looking.. no seriously you’re good looking …. “

  6. Kir says:

    I am hating the 3’s, people (and our pediatrician) told us that 3 would be worse than 2..I scoffed. I wished I had listened and taken a year long vacation. The only good news is you telling me that 4 has been better. I am about to lose my sh**t if it isn’t 😉

    Caption: (I Never win)
    “I am going to use this smile to hook up when I’m 6”

    Happy Wednesday

  7. bwah-ha-ha-ha! if I just stand here long enough she will TOTALLY think I washed my hands!!!

  8. Pkitass says:

    Caption “Who’s the man? You’re the man”

  9. educlaytion says:

    I am now completely distracted by the thought of cupcakes and pizza.

  10. Pingback: This Week in Chaos-land… | Dances with Chaos

Leave a Reply

