The Art of Name Calling and Re-creating the Universe: Tacklerism Tuesday

It’s happened.

My four year old now is fully aware of a behavior passed down for centuries, from the older children (or parents) to the younger generation.

The art of name calling.

I admit, this is a milestone I happily would have waited a few more years for.

Currently one word exists in his repertoire – loaded and ready to shoot from his mouth during moments of frustration, when the world refuses to unfold as he wishes:

Idiot.

A few nights ago, as our family enjoyed a lovely (but very warm) evening park excursion, I failed to follow The Tackler’s map: I did not walk ALL the way to top of the steps with his sister as he had with CG. Instead, we only climbed halfway before turning around to follow the boys back to the bottom after they lapped us.

The Tackler was displeased.

A meltdown erupted.

CG attempted to calm him as Lil Diva and I carefully walked around the eroded stones.

Thick tears rolled down The Tackler’s red face as the tantrum continued.

Two warnings announced: if he didn’t calm down we would have to leave immediately.

No effect.

CG picked up The Tackler, carrying him in the direction of the car.

“Put me down you idiot!”

CG instantly set him down, placing the Tackler in a time-out.

Lil Diva attempted to comfort him with a hug, but it only angered him more.

He ran twenty feet away, refusing to listen once again.

“Just walk,” I told CG. “He will follow.”

He did, the theatrics continuing the entire ride home.

I wait for the oh-so glorious day other words join “idiot”. The classics such as: stupid, poopyhead, and dork.

———

My son believes the universe revolves around him.

On the 7th day, The Tackler created the world.

The solar system according to The Tackler:

The Tackler further edits the universe - declaring only 7 planets.

What has your child/ren done or said lately?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Tacklerisms, The Tackler and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Art of Name Calling and Re-creating the Universe: Tacklerism Tuesday

  1. Jessica says:

    The joys of being a parent.

  2. John says:

    I can still remember the look my father gave me the day I called him a “dummy.” He had confused Voltron & He-Man characters, I believe.

    I live in a constant state of frustration because my kids can’t speak yet – but I know, once they start to, I’m going to long for the time that I had zero clue what they were trying to say.

    • Voltran and He-Man??? Really? I could maybe understand Voltron and Transformers…

      My Lil Diva is beginning the word explosion – it has helped cut down on outbursts.

      I’m still trying to explain why she can’t be excused from the table in a restaurant after eating her dinner. Once finished, she wants to run, communicates this wish, and then gets mad if wishes are not granted.

      The talking is nice, but there is something so sweet about baby babble… Enjoy it.

  3. CG says:

    Actually, the planets are in ascending order from right to left according to The Boy.

    • I based this off of a conversation we had Monday afternoon about the planets. He recreated this again (no photo was taken this time), and told me which ones were Earth, Jupiter, and the sun.

      My bad if I assumed consistency from one day to the next. Always, he has told me the blue one is Earth…

  4. Kir says:

    Hmmm, well my kids say things back to me like:
    “mommy, don’t you even think about it”
    “mommy, you need to be quiet…NOW. ”
    sometimes they will say “You’re a dingbat mommy” but not in the way Idiot sounds..although the meaning is there.

    I wonder what will happen when they have a better hold on this language and what it can do to hurt. Hmmmmmm. Not looking forward to it.

    (I liked the planet example. 😉

  5. Pingback: This Week in Chaos-land… | Dances with Chaos

Leave a Reply

