The Mystery of the Missing iPod – A Case of Mistaken Identity

Last December I mentioned in my “Night Before Traveling with Children” post that CG’s iPod had been devoured by my parents house.

We formed an iPod hunting posse, searching everywhere The Tackler could have set it down, plus some places he’d never gone.

We never found it, forced to head to the airport with one less iPod (the one designated to entertain The Tackler on the plane, containing all of his apps).

Weeks later, my family tore their house apart, moving mattresses, couch cushions, hunting for the all elusive iPod.

Nothing.

As though the iPod dropped into a rip in the time-space continuum, lost in a hellish alternate dimension where Microsoft ruled handheld devices.

Once a month I asked my mother, “Have you found CG’s iPod yet?”

“No.”

We nearly held a funeral, burying the empty plastic iPod case, the letters RIP etched on the cover.

Fast forward to Wednesday night.

CG worked on his laptop, completing a presentation for work as I mirrored him – working on my blog instead.

“Oh, my iPod is found.”

“WHAT?! How? Where? Did my mother call you directly?”

“No, my dad emailed me.”

“Your dad? Don’t tell me it fell between his couch cushions!”

“Yup.”

“I never realized The Tackler played with the iPod there.”

It might have been useful information.

“Yup.”

So four months later, the Mystery of the Missing iPod is finally solved.

A year before he became "The Tackler", he basks in the attention of being the only grandchild. This was the Christmas CG received the missing iPod as a gift - he was so out of it from the stomach virus he'd had for our entire visit, he barely smiled in response.

Sorry, House I Grew Up In, for yelling at you for eating the iPod. I didn’t mean it.

Sorry, mom, dad, and everyone else roped into looking for it. I heard you found some other lost items as a reward.

So Mom, you can finally stop looking for it.

What items have you found after writing them off as lost?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in random thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Mystery of the Missing iPod – A Case of Mistaken Identity

  1. Kristina says:

    Maybe your mom can find my missing iPhone in her couch cushions since we can’t find it here. 🙂 Glad it was found!

  2. John says:

    My son has been hiding milk, in sippy cups, in random places (which is always fun to find weeks later) and loves to place his sister’s dresses in the diaper genie (he loves watching them disappear).

    Lately, he’s been eying my iPhone like it’s his to have (and I’m some impostor who happens to be holding it). I really fear going through this, myself.

  3. Kir says:

    like John, the boys like to hide their milk sippy cups, EWWWWWWW.

    other than that, I don’t let them touch anything , (OCD abounds) and so we hardly lose anything, but you know that now that’s I’ve said it….things will go missing.

  4. Shell says:

    Since I lose EVERYTHING, my list would be too long.

  5. My theory is that the couch is indeed a portal to another dimension. The ipod just fancied a spell on the other side. That’s the only explanation for its reappearance after what I’m sure was an exhaustive search.

  6. Jessica says:

    Similar thing happened to me. My daughter was playing with my iPod and then I couldn’t find it for six months. One day she was playing in my office and pulled it out of her hiding spot and handed it to me.

  7. Mimi says:

    After tearing apart all chairs, love seats & sofas; cleaning & removing all kitchen, family room, bedroom, bathroom and hall cupboards; emptying every drawer in all furniture; clearing out all closets, moving all pieces of furniture away from walls & vacuuming, taking apart all beds, mattresses taken off and flipped, dust ruffles & duvet covers removed; all pillow liners checked; floor registers removed just to make sure he hadn’t lifted one and dropped it into duct; four cars searched; all Christmas decorations and boxes rechecked; every toy container checked at least four times by five different people; and finally last Sunday since not one square inch of all three floors in our house had been checked & searched with no success, the garage was completely cleaned. NO IPOD — its not here. We came to the conclusion that it either fell out of your diaper bag while in transit or was thrown out in the trash with a dirty diaper. I’m so glad it was found!!! I was sure it wasn’t at my house and am so thankful to be proven correct. However, it was nice to get my spring cleaning done a month earlier than usual.

Leave a Reply

