Cleaning “Crumbs” and Things That Make You Say “Mmm… Delicious” – Tacklerism Tuesday

My daughter has used her little Bjorn potty chair (successfully) exactly twice.

It is two times more than my son did before he was 3 years old; I’m not complaining.

Usually she won’t ask to use it until after the diaper has been thoroughly dirtied.

The tiny potty chair sits, waiting for its turn in our downstairs bathroom.

Between the two weeks of actual use, dust and other debris settles into the bowl, marring the perfectly whiteness.

One afternoon, after insisting The Tackler go to the bathroom, I heard the dreaded sound: water pouring onto a surface it should not.

I rushed to the bathroom, and found a large puddle of water on the floor, the removable potty insert in his hands.

“What are you doing?” I asked, afraid he once again tried to use the little potty and dumped urine all over the floor, while simultaneously wishing my camera still worked to properly capture this moment for my mommy philosophy of Don’t Get Mad, Take a Photo and Blog About It.

He turned to me, bestowing an Isn’t It Obvious Mommy? look on me.

“I had  to wash the potty because it had poop crumbs in it.”

I laughed, the frustration evaporating.

I laughed harder.

I grabbed my phone, recording his words before they vanished like my budding anger.

I love having a four year old.

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

The Tackler loves to eat, particularly foods falling into the “junk” category. Any foods chocolate, sugary, or salty are his favorites.

Shocker, I know.

Lately, whenever he partakes of one of these mouth watering treats, his face lights up, his happy glow beaming light into every corner of the house. A giant grin displays his perfect baby teeth as he smacks his lips and says,

“Mmmmm. Delicious!”

The Tackler adores candy capable of turning his tongue and lips blue.

It never fails to send a smile to my face.

A nefarious plot on his part, no doubt, to ensure a plethora of unhealthy packaged snacks in his future.

What has your child said/done/performed lately to entertain you?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Tacklerisms, The Tackler and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Cleaning “Crumbs” and Things That Make You Say “Mmm… Delicious” – Tacklerism Tuesday

  1. Ha ha! The girls say mmmm delicious too. And if they see me eating they say, “is that good Mommy?”

  2. Kir says:

    oh I have lots of things they say, but the best lately is Jacob eating and then rubbing his tummy…”it’s yummy in my tummy mommy, my tummy likes this”
    I too love having two three year olds with such definate opinions about everything. 🙂

  3. Pkitass says:

    My daughter is now 16 but when she was little she has always reffered to eating as “having fun” when it was tasty. To this day she still uses the phrase but now we tease each other when we over eat and start Getty pudgy “looks like someone has been having lots of fun lately”

  4. educlaytion says:

    Ah, the poop crumbs. Of course. Gotta watch out for those indeed.

  5. Ilana says:

    Today Mazzy said “Thank you”. I was stunned. STUNNED. But the thing that makes me laugh is she imitates our sneezes. She imitates her sneezes too. Whenever someone sneezes she then does three fake mini sneezes with a huge smile on her face as if sneezing is one big private joke she shares with herself.

  6. Ironic Mom says:

    Yup, photograph it. It’s no longer: “Don’t move, you might cut yourself on the broken glass.” It’s now, “Don’t move, I have to get my camera!”

Leave a Reply

