Magic Mommy Healing Powers

I am cursed blessed with very active children.

Every chair is a launch off point.

Every railing, tree branch, and table a perch to conquered.

At first, I wanted to wrap my son in bubble wrap.

He objected.

After months of performing the role of Helicopter Mommy, I concluded my son needed free reign to explore his world, and vowed to “spot” him during the I Want To Give Mommy a Heart Attack moments.

The Lil Diva was grandfathered into this rule, experiencing far less of Helicopter Mommy and more of Try to Keep Big Brother From Killing Her Mommy.

"You shall not pass!"

My children explore everything.

Usually, they are cats, miraculously landing on their feet or with only the most minor of concussions*.

Sometimes, they are not so lucky, calling for Mommy’s Magical Kiss and Snuggle Powers To Make It Better.

The Tackler slipped and tried to stab himself with a stick - Damage Assessment

I hate those moments, as my child’s tears drench my shirt – wanting to take their pain away.

I cherish those moments too, realizing someday my children will develop immunity to this power – a simple cuddle no longer enough to heal them – to “fix it”.

The magical Mommy Snuggles help make it all better.

My children run, climb, dive bomb, tackle, and fall. I watch them grow – using my Super Mommy Skills to help them along the way, praying they never become fully obsolete.

A sweet snack sharing moment brought to you by Bobbi's camera... because mine still isn't fixed.

Mommy disclaimers: Sorry for the sappiness today. As a precaution, if you speak to me, nod your head in agreement with whatever I say. Just to be safe.

*To my knowledge, neither of my children have suffered any form of a concussion.

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Lil Diva, The Tackler and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Magic Mommy Healing Powers

  1. Kir says:

    oh I related. Gio is like the Tackler, he just bounces through life, I tell him that I’m not saving for college but for his MRI. 😉

    I love the pictures of the kids and the inside shot it gives us of the love that they are surrounded with. Letting go, letting them do their own thing is so hard, but as always you’re doing a great job.

  2. educlaytion says:

    So true. I watch my 20 month old niece crash the other day and start bawling. My sister had the magic mommy powers in effect. Instant calm.

  3. Ironic Mom says:

    So you’re a recovering helicopter parent? I suspect we all are, in the early are-they-still-breathing days of newborns. The Swedes call parents who hover Curling Parents, because they sweep all the obstacles out of the way.

    I thought that connects our LeAnn Twitter chat from two weeks ago!

  4. Totally reminds me of Braeden.. he’s the resilient one. He’d have to be considering that he lacks any form of coordination whatsoever. He will randomly fall over just standing in one place, I kid you not. But almost every time, he will jump up from whatever misadventure he had and say, before I can ask, “I’m ok!!” and run off to perform another world famous stunt.

    Kids…

  5. Leighann says:

    The pictures are beautiful! They capture special moments perfectly.
    Moments we often don’t think to snap.
    Your words match them well.

  6. Seeing the power of magic mommy kisses is excellent- now my daughter is convinced that she has magic kisses too. It’s funny b/c I was not worried with my daughter, but my son is a maniac. Jumps off anything, tries to fly….crazy. I go in between being a helicopter mom and trying to have him learn (without letting him break his skull).

    I love your pictures too. Awesome capture of those sweet moments.

  7. Paige Morgan says:

    Loved this.

    My diva fell off of her brothers bed tonight and gave the blood curling scream that had me sprinting through the house. She fell backwards, head first and hit her head on my son’s stool. There were tears, blood and a little panic. She got a good little goose egg and I made a quick call to the pediatrician to understand the signs of a concussion, but she is fine. This won’t be my last heart attack but I am grateful for the privelage to hold the ice pack and kiss the tears away.

  8. MamaRobinJ says:

    Oh, I love this. My son is the same way. (Although he has moments where he has a monumental crash and then pops up and says, “I’m ok!” – I never know what to expect with this kid.)

    Thanks for linking up with me for Fledgling Friday 🙂

  9. Elena says:

    I love the magical powers we have. This line “I cherish those moments too, realizing someday my children will develop immunity to this power – a simple cuddle no longer enough to heal them – to “fix it”.” – Oh, I will miss that so much.

Leave a Reply

