Top 10 Signs You Have Mommy ADD aka “Mommy Brain”

Top 10 Signs You Have Mommy ADD (Attention Deficit Disorder) aka “Mommy Brain”

1.       You often stop speaking mid-sentence and cannot recall five seconds later what you’d been saying.

2.       You can remember your life twenty years ago with perfect clarity, but dinner yesterday is a mystery.

3.       You forget about the load of laundry’s existence – until it’s too late and you have to redo it.

4.       You have 59 tabs open in your browser consisting of blogs, Facebook, online bill paying and Google (as you hunt for an elusive out-of-stock item) – all in various states of being read, replied, paid, or found – but nothing completed.

5.       I’m sorry, what?

6.       You’re fairly certain what year it is, but date is up for debate.

7.       You walk to the closet/room/refrigerator for a specific purpose, but upon reaching it you cannot recall why.

8.       “Ohh! Shiny!”

9.       Writing/reading a simple Top Ten List takes no less than two hours.

10.   Despite repeated verbal “notes to self” you still forget:  you used the last diaper, your child’s project was due tomorrow, your bill needs to be paid, there’s a birthday party that night, where the permission slip is you needed to sign two days ago, you had a doctor’s appointment, to turn off the car lights resulting in a dead battery, where the car keys are, and where you misplaced your formerly intelligent, working brain.

*Can also apply to Daddy ADD, especially if they are a stay at home parent.

What parental ADD moment have you had lately?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Top 10 List and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Top 10 Signs You Have Mommy ADD aka “Mommy Brain”

  1. Katie says:

    I used to do a lot of this stuff even before I had kids. Scary. Though, granted, it’s much worse now!

  2. Ironic Mom says:

    This is a brilliant list, Kelly! Just last night I almost tweeted “Can you develop adult-onset-ADD at age 40?” but then I forgot as I flitted to something else. I wish I were joking.

    Number 5 is my favourite. Clever.

  3. Sonia M. says:

    How well I know these symptoms!

  4. Natalie says:

    Yep, it’s official…I have mommy brain and probably will forever!

  5. *headdesk* I actually have a post very similar to this hiding in my Documents folder.

    I keep forgetting about it.

  6. marinasleeps says:

    Yep … this correct. Completely correct. I am a long time sufferer and well I wanna start a cause to help mothers everywhere who suffer from mommy brain. But I keep forgetting.
    What was I saying?

    • My mental “to-do” list suffers greatly from this.

      This post almost fell victim to the very topic it describes, but I had it “written” in a chat window when inspiration struck.

      I’m just happy I remembered it was there.

  7. Mimi says:

    Today a “mommy brain”, tomorrow a “senior moment”. Just chuckle and smile about the silly things you did while hoping it does’t happen too frequently.

    • Good point mom. When does Mommy Brain turn into a Senior Moment? When the kids have moved out? When you pass a certain age?

      Is there a recovery in between where you brain momentarily returns so it can taunt you with the loss again?

      Thanks for commenting, Mom. 🙂

  8. Jessica says:

    I have mommy brain. I always forget what I was going to say or what I was going to do.

  9. Trish Loye Elliott says:

    Hilarious post! This is soooo true! I love #8. This is me to a tee.. or tea… or did I want a cup of tea?

  10. kir says:

    Oh yes…I definately have this. A very bad case of Mommy ADD. Lol

  11. I tested positive, too! Please say there’s a cure?!

  12. Leighann says:

    Hahaha.
    Loved the “I’m sorry what”

  13. Paige Morgan says:

    Awesome list Kelly! Based on your warning signs, I am in clear need of treatment. What do you recommend? More Mountain Dew?

  14. I used to be great with names, dates, EVERYTHING…and now I am a former shell of myself. It’s pretty sad…maybe it will get better when she goes to preschool…please tell me it will!! 🙂

    • I also once had a mind like a steel trap – now riddled with numerous, large holes and tiny pinhole ones.

      I, sadly, do not possess the crystal ball as to what occurs when kids go to preschool – my son just barely that age, and my daughter 18 months old.

      I’m told the condition tends to be irreversible. Pure hearsay, though.

      Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment!

  15. mysoulforsale says:

    Sorry, but mommies don’t have the market cornered on this… many of us suffer from each and every mental affliction listed in your post. (This is NOT a good thing!)

    Thanks for the list… I laughed reading it because I’m a ball of mess myself lately, too.

    • Sometimes it helps to laugh at yourself. I know as a stay at home mother, whenever something “explodes” and I wonder why I ever wanted this job, taking time to find the humor and laugh about life helps me tremendously.

      Good luck with your ball of mess.

      Thanks for commenting!

  16. Mel says:

    I totally have this thing you…umm, what was I saying? Oh, look, a quarter!

  17. Pamela says:

    It gets worse every year — my husband and I have 5 between us and I think it’s a cumulative effect 😉

  18. Selena says:

    Hahahahaha…So true. I can never tell if I don’t know where my keys and cell phone are are because I am having a “mommy moment” or because my kid has theifed them like a little hoarding squirrel.

    • The “hoarding squirrel” issue is precisely why my kitchen is often a disaster: it’s the one place my 18 month old can reach yet, and she’s just gotten tall enough to reach the edges.

      Locating our shoes can take a while, because if Lil Diva isn’t trying to eat them (cringe) she’s wearing them and leaving them randomly strewn about.

  19. Carri says:

    I thought “Pregnancy Brain” would go away after I gave birth, but it’s only gotten worse! Mommy Brain = MUSH.
    Wait… what were we talking about?

  20. Victoria KP says:

    Oh yeah! I have serious Mommy brain. I wrote about it in my blog a few weeks back… or was in months… did I write that? I have to go, I think something’s burning 😉

  21. Lauren says:

    I’ve still got mommy ADD and my son is 21. I think my condition has progressed to advanced CRS (can’t remember shit).

  22. Grammy T. says:

    I resemble the item that says, I am in the middle of a sentence and can’t remember where I was going next with the darn thing. 😉

  23. Brandon says:

    I am so #5 and #8… OH! Look! A butterfly! *scampers off…*

    Stopped by from Fledgling Friday. (Yes, I am indeed… EVERYWHERE! MWAHAHA!)

    Good to see you. Funny stuff. 😉

  24. I’ve only been a mama for 9 months, but I am sooooo there already!

    Visiting from TRDC.

  25. MamaTrack says:

    This is me! If you add losing your cell phone–in your own house. All day long.

  26. Yep. I can relate to every one of these.

    Ooh! Shiny!

  27. mypajamadays says:

    I tried to fit a metal cookie sheet in my microwave this weekend instead of the oven to melt the cheese on my english muffin. Also this weekend: found the kitchen phone in a basket of unfolded clean clothes, car keys in the cereal pantry and packages of unopened purse size tissues in my basement sitting on a random box (I was looking for some baskets for storage to bring upstairs).

  28. Angie says:

    It’s painful in the extreme to reflect on the former glory of my brain. Oh, it was a thing of beauty. I remembered appointments WITHOUT WRITING THEM DOWN. Yes, I was a pistol, once upon a time.

    Now, I have a load of wet washing turning rancid in the machine as we speak. Seriously, how bad is that smell?

    I like cookies.

  29. Pingback: Embarrassing Mommy Moment « Training Up My Boys

Leave a Reply

