Father and Son Bond Over Garage Door Opener: Tacklerism Tuesday Guest Post by Daddy

Today’s “Tacklerism Tuesday” has a special guest poster: CG aka Mr. Fix-It aka The Daddy.

A Day of Bonding

Another veridical paradox. I have recently been thinking about a lot of things that appear to be so absurd that they could not possibly be true, but nonetheless are true. Something of that nature happened on Saturday.

The Boy commonly referred to as “the Tackler” or “YOUR Son” or Gordo von Smashintosh was a nearly perfect boy for Daddy all day long.He was helpful and playful with his sister (playing a game of fetch with his sister and a high-bounce ball). He helped pick up after her. He helped get her food when she was hungry.

I’m pretty sure the last time my car was washed, the sky was doing most of the work. Both our cars needed some attention with a hose and washcloth. The Boy commonly described as a Destroyer of Worlds helpfully hosed down the cars while Daddy scrubbed them. Daddy (and Lil Diva) are incidentally sprayed, but never with the devilish intent that one might ascribe to him.

“I want to make it rain on top of the cars.”

The Boy took great initiative in wanting to water our plants (it has been rather dry), because he wanted to “watch them grow.” While he claimed to see growth, I am left skeptical of his observational skills, and demand peer-review of his research. Then again, he is four – imagination is all that counts.

We played Candyland for what should have felt like eternity. Candyland is largely a mindless game left entirely to chance. You could literally shuffle the cards, place the deck on the table and compute the winner. The only way to influence the outcome is to cheat (or change the rules).

However, the man who often says: “if it isn’t a challenge, it isn’t worth doing,” thoroughly enjoyed the game. Not because of the game, but because of how a four-year old can turn it into something amazing, absurd, and interesting by simply being silly. (Mommy note: the cackle of glee he gets when Daddy is sent backwards on the board is priceless). I probably played ten games of Candyland on Saturday.

I never won.

I finally got around to fixing my garage door opener. The Boy was a genuine help, holding things steady for Daddy when I asked. He helped smear grease on the new gears. He helped screw in the screws (I even let him use my cordless drill to do it). His only complaint:

“I want to use MY tools, not YOUR tools.”

He picked up at the end of the day – even though he was really tired. The Boy chose to read a book together instead of his reward – playing some games on the phone for getting so many stars on his “good behavior” chart.

Frequent readers might note that I’m referring to him as “The Boy” instead of his usual cadre of sarcastic nicknames. Today he showed himself to be better than those, and I think he deserves the respect that comes with that. I don’t know what course he will take, and which nicknames he’ll earn next. But I am hopeful that he can, and will be, a better man.

CG is the Computer God/Guru of the house. When he isn’t off being a software engineer, he can be found fixing the countless household objects/appliances/toys that break under Murphy’s Law. He also stars as The Favorite Parent and Person to Be Tackled/Climbed/Jumped.

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Computer God, Guest Blog, Tacklerisms and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Father and Son Bond Over Garage Door Opener: Tacklerism Tuesday Guest Post by Daddy

  1. Brandon says:

    Very cool. Great to see the little ones allowed to ‘do’. It builds their self esteem and gives them a level of pride that you simply cannot imagine. Good job Dad and Mom!

    • CG says:

      I don’t have to imagine – I know.

      Growing up, I had similar experiences with my dad. We’d work on cars in the garage, work on electronics in his lab at work, and try to find Saturn with the telescope.

      I want to take the good parts that I remember from growing up: being encouraged to learn and try, learning the value of knowledge and science, seeing things as a challenge – not a reason to quit.

  2. Kir says:

    oh how I loved this, I love seeing things from someone new. A different point of view.
    Plus it gives me hope that these 3’s…will make themselves ‘better” in the 4’s.

    How i loved that picture at the end, snuggle fest and giggles. *sigh*

  3. marinasleeps says:

    Daddies are the favorite parent huh?
    Grrrrr

  4. Ironic Mom says:

    Love the change in perspective!

    I think I could use a computer guy. Or girl. Or maybe just someone to clean my house and cook.

  5. Jessica says:

    What a sweet post from daddy today. I like how he referred to him as “the boy” today instead of other sarcastic games. I have been playing Candyland with my daughter for years and I do have to admit that I cheat in that game because sometimes if I don’t the game goes on forever.

  6. Taylor Jamieson says:

    Great story! Dad’s can do that. 😉 Some people say Dads are harder to please and we don’t say what we should but somewhere there between fathers and sons is that thing that says what we don’t say enough. You know those days when you want to tell their mom, “I’ve got this…” Not sure there’s a spot on a chart for that place…maybe that says more than the chart ever can.

    I just wrote about my son and our escape last night while ‘The Bachelor’ took over the rest of the family – the girls – for the night. You might like it. “Fathers, sons and Bachelors…an uneditted day in the life.” http://wp.me/p1l5Wz-2V

    Thanks again for sharing.
    Taylor

  7. Paige Morgan says:

    Love that Daddy posted – but don’t worry Kelly, you’re still my favorite, I am not selling out! The picture is priceless!

  8. The alaskan says:

    Blame me for introducing your son to Candyland last Christmas. 🙂

    • CG says:

      Blame? He had a great time and learned a life skill. You might get hit with setbacks, but just keep at it and things may just work out anyway.

  9. Clay Morgan says:

    Fantastic. We just had a bday party for the niece. She got some 21st version of CandyLand. It’s 3-d and their may be lasers and vampires. Okay, those last two were just wishful thinking. Nevertheless, she has the best child evil laugh I’ve ever heard. I’m sure I’ll get a taste when the Candy Vampire gets me.

Leave a Reply

