Sunday Morning Surprise – The Commencing of Operation Potty Training: Round 2

It happened.

I am still in shock.

It just doesn’t seem possible that something like this could possibly occur.

My daughter, one day shy of 18 months, actually deposited a sizable donation of foul smelling excrement into her little potty this morning.

The Backstory

Just a little over a week ago, I asked the question: To Potty Train or Not to Potty Train? The response was fantastic: full of advice, successes, missed opportunities, and horror stories.

I decided to follow the advice: let her cues lead me but don’t force anything.

The next time she pointed to her changing pad and her diaper was still dry, I put her on the little potty. And this happened.

Not the glowing encouragement I was hoping for.

She was young and I vowed to let her lead me, so I didn’t force the matter.

Several days later, she gave me the same signal, saying “pot-teee” just before bedtime.

Again, she sat on the little potty.

This time, after a few seconds of “I don’t like this thing” she settled in and we read a book together. Nothing happened other than her gaining familiarity with her little chair.

Today

I slept in, my body exhausted from many nights of little sleep and in denial of the time change.

I finally dragged myself out of bed and came downstairs – everyone else already awake for several hours.

“I need to show you something,” CG said before turning to Lil Diva. “Can we show Mommy what you did?”

I knew in that moment – the sound of the bathroom fan running a clue as to her surprise.

Lil Diva was too busy playing with her latest favorite toy – the extreme choking hazard that is a rubber power ball – so I missed the Look At What I Did Mommy! moment.

I stood there, viewing her accomplishment, in total shock that it had really happened.

“How?” I asked, my brain still processing this new development.

“She came up to me and told me “potty” and I thought she was telling me she needed a diaper change because she stank. Nothing was in there, so I took her to the potty.”

Still staring at her first success I asked, “Was that it?”

“She was a little confused when something came out.”

“She didn’t try to stand up, run away, and make a mess of it.”

“No, she just sat there.”

Hours later, I still have a hard time accepting this – see any post about The Tackler and potty training and you will understand.

He was TWICE her age before he showed even the slightest interest in using the potty – and that was with extensive bribery measures put into play. It took another six months before he stopped hiding in a corner to fill his pants and use the potty. He still uses a night diaper – such a hard sleeper he will not wake up to pee.

I’m not ready to stick her in underwear or even a pull up… yet. Since this morning she has filled her pants twice more – no sign given to use the potty for those – at least one loud enough one to hear over her brother.

Lil

I’ll continue to take it day by day, but Operation Potty Training Round 2 is officially a go in the House of Chaos – just seven months after completing The Tackler’s day time training.

Didn’t I just leave this party?

Wish us luck!

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Lil Diva, Milestones and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Sunday Morning Surprise – The Commencing of Operation Potty Training: Round 2

  1. Pingback: To Potty Train, or Not to Potty Train. That is the Question. | Dances with Chaos

  2. Jessica says:

    Wow and good luck!

  3. Katie says:

    Congratulations!! I can only hope that our Baby Sister is an early trainer too.

  4. Jeff Silvey says:

    Congrats. I wish we could have such luck. My little one still has no interest in the potty. I fear we will have to change her until the end of our days.

  5. Mean Mom says:

    My sister had a girl who self-trained at 18 months – her one caveat was she had to have her own potty to go in – so they carried it with them wherever they went (along with disposable bags for the bowl) for about 3 months til she was comfortable using other potties.

  6. Congrats! My three year old is still working on this.

  7. Kir says:

    Luck, Luck, Luck…I’m so jealous because my 3 yr olds cannot make up thier minds about the potty and it’s driving me batty!!!!!
    GO LIL DIVA!!!!!!

  8. Ya know… I’ve always heard girls are easier. Lucky that I have 4 boys, eh? =P

  9. Pingback: Another Lesson on the “Sh*t I Didn’t Think I’d Ever Need to Know Until I Became a Parent” List | Dances with Chaos

Leave a Reply

