Wonders of the Blue Tongue – Enjoying a Simple Moment

It is easy to get wrapped up in life, in the big picture, and forget to appreciate the little moments of pure and simple joy.

Monday was beautiful – an example of why people put up with Texas summers.

My Lil Diva, exhausted from her latest I Will Only Nap 30 Minutes pattern, actually slept for almost three hours, giving me some rare uninterrupted time with The Tackler.

To make it more perfect, he’d turned off his super power of Selective Hearing and was on near angelic behavior – earning a lollipop as a reward.

“Mommy, this is the best candy ever!” he told me as he licked the raspberry flavor blow-pop, enjoying the warm afternoon sun on our deck.

I captured his delight on camera – proving true a picture is worth a thousand words.

Lost in sugary thought.

The simple joys.

Does this not say it all?

The coveted "blue tongue" - later admired repeatedly in the mirror.

I always want to remember this face.

It was a perfect thirty minutes, as he savored what I’d deemed “inferior” candy as if the finest delicacy in existence. We sat. We talked. He licked.

We enjoyed one another.

Here’s to remembering the little moments your children find joy in – even if it only encompasses a fraction of an oh-so-frustrating day.

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in The Tackler and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Wonders of the Blue Tongue – Enjoying a Simple Moment

  1. I L-O-V-E these moments! I hope I always remember my babies’ sugary smiles too! Blue tongues and all.

  2. Ironic Mom says:

    All that I’m fixated on is The Tackler’s t-shirt. He’s wearing a t-shirt outside, without a jacket. Bliss!

  3. Kim Woehl says:

    At 15 and 18, my babies are soon grown. I so miss those moments. Thank goodness you have documented that smile to hold onto. It will truly be a comfort later on as they are grown.

    • Each year moves faster, it’s the strangest thing.

      I’m so glad I live in the digital age so I can over capture these little moments – when my camera is working.

      Must get that fixed. I have yet to capture Lil Diva’s “scolding/constipated/monster” face….

  4. Kir says:

    that is what parenting is all about isn’t it? REmembering that in the HOLY GOOD GOD times that a blue tongue makes everyone smile. I loved this post. It was just what I needed today. 🙂

    • Glad it was what you needed, Kir. I’m trying to focus on the happier moments versus the “driving me over the Cliffs of Insanity” moments.

      I’m trying to make sure I remember to blog about the happy times too, as opposed to only the “HOLY GOOD GOD” ones.

  5. Leighann says:

    Such beautiful pictures
    What fun

  6. educlaytion says:

    I love me some blue face! He’s one step away from Vegas and the Blue Man Group. Okay, 3 steps.

Leave a Reply

