Baby, Mommy Got Back: Tacklerism Tuesday

The 4 Steps to the First Potty Training Attempt of a Younger Sibling

Step 1 – The Brilliant Idea

Bring the little potty chair into the house to see if Lil Diva is ready to begin potty training.

Step 2 – Testing Hypothesis

Things that make you go "hmmm.."

Lil Diva plopped onto her changing pad without prompting, so I asked her, “Do you want to go on the potty?”

She happily traipsed over to the potty. “Pot-tee,” she said proudly, one of her newest words.

I pulled down her pants, removed her diaper, and set her on the little potty.

She cried – as though sitting on the cold plastic seat was somehow a torture device.

So much for potty training…

Step 3 – Proper Execution

The potty chair resumed its position in the downstairs bathroom. I thought nothing of it.

My mistake.

The Tackler emerged from the bathroom, butt naked, and told me. “Mommy, I used the little potty because the big potty is too big.”

Step 4 – The Explanation

“It is not too big. You’re FOUR YEARS OLD – you’ve been using the toilet for a long time. The baby potty is for baby sister.”

He turned to me and gave me frown.

“No, it’s not. I have a little butt that fits and it’s too big for the potty. Mommy has a BIG butt and has to use the big one.”

From the mouth of babes: Mommy got back.

What crazy/funny things have your children done or said recently?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Tacklerisms, The Tackler and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Baby, Mommy Got Back: Tacklerism Tuesday

  1. Katie says:

    That’s awesome! I guess it’s only a matter of time before our sons tell us we have big butts in one way or another. It reminds me of the time when I was about 7 or 8 and my mom started folding my underwear rather than laying it flat. My brother was disturbingly excited to inform me that my underwear had to be folded because my butt was getting big. Boys never change.

  2. Ironic Mom says:

    Out of the mouths of babes…

    I haven’t listened to my children enough recently to hear anything funny. My daughter did say something nice, though (which is always worth noting so I remember something other than attitude). She wrote out all the members of my immediate family (i.e. my siblings and parents) and called them my “Home Family.” They’re the family we grow up with at home, she said.

  3. I will be humming that song for the rest of the night. Sir Mix-a-lot. Classy.

    At the risk of offending, Tackler’s line of reasoning is fairly sound…

    Slim punched KAW in the rear a while back and she said, “Like a piece of steel, isn’t it?”

    His reply? “Mom, actually there was a lot of stuff moving around.”

    • Well, it is a classic from our younger days. Who didn’t know that song?

      You have to love kids that practically write your blog posts for you.

      I mean, you can’t make this stuff up.

      And no offense taken: his comment to KAW had me rolling.

  4. educlaytion says:

    That’s great Chase. I like the logic Kelly, but Tackler just needed to assert his presence. When he gets to college he may do the same thing to a roommate’s bed just to let them know he’s still the Tackler.

  5. Momma got back is a compliment in our house. Just sayin.

  6. Love! Can’t wait to see what our babe comes up with when she starts stringing words together! For now she just puts a toy shopping bag on her head like a hat and spins in circles…it gets laughs!

    Stephanie

  7. MamaRobinJ says:

    Totally laughing out loud. Hilarious!

    Thanks for linking this one up with me 🙂

  8. Frelle says:

    yeah thats about how it goes!

    mama, you got a big booty butt. I got a tiny booty butt.
    -jack, 3.

  9. mysoulforsale says:

    Oh my God… that’s hilarious! Thanks for sharing!

  10. LOL! Those are fightin’ words in this house!

    I was hoping you’d have some potty words of wisdom for me… I want to start training my almost-2-year-old boy. My daughter was 3 before she really got the hang of it, so I want to make sure I don’t repeat those mistakes!

  11. Hee hee! I love the logic of children!

  12. Jack says:

    My daughter likes to ask me why my hair is disappearing. They are fun, these kids of ours.

  13. Galit Breen says:

    Oh, I needed that laugh! Well played, Mama. Well played, indeed! 🙂

  14. Leighann says:

    LMAO!!!
    Brian told me yesterday maybe I needed more pain meds than other ppl cause my body type was er…. And then he stopped.
    I yelled FATTER!!!
    At least I can laugh at myself.

  15. OMG this is funny. Oh the things kids say.

  16. Oh that is funny. I can’t think of anything Mazzy has said recently, mainly because she just started talking and it’s hard to find humor in words like “ball” and book”. Good luck with the potty training!

  17. angela says:

    I took my kids with my to do some shopping (which is already playing with fire, right?) So we go into the dressing room, I change into what I’m trying on, and Abbey (3 yrs.) says, “Ohhhh, THAT’S a lot better!” When I went to put my own clothes back on, she sighed in disappointment, “You should just wear the other one home, Mommy.” Thanks dear, as though I don’t already feel poorly about my limited wardrobe!

  18. My daughter is six and a half and has been sneaking her baby brother’s binkies and bottle nipples. She steals all his stuffed animals and sleeps with his blankets. It was annoying until I read your story, and all I can say is at least she hasn’t tried to go back to the little potty! Lol.

  19. Mandyland says:

    HAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHHAHHAHAHAH

    Sorry…I should probably leave a more insightful and complex comment, but…

    HAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAH

  20. Amy says:

    Sounds like something that my kids would say too. I am in the midst of potty training nightmare right now and feel your pain 🙂

  21. Crystal says:

    hahaha…too funny! I think it’s so hilarious–a little brutal—when my boys tell me I’m big! Kids are honest…so it stings a little bit!!! LOL! Stopping by from RDC…love your blog!

  22. Pingback: Sunday Morning Surprise – The Commencing of Operation Potty Training: Round 2 | Dances with Chaos

  23. MamaTrack says:

    Awesome. I love the funny things kids say–I laughed out loud. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

