Where the Frak was “What the frak…?” Friday?

Friday arrived.

It left.

Other than another too short night for me (thank you insomnia) and a too short power nap for my Lil Diva, it passed by uneventfully.

For a change.

Perhaps Murphy has gone off to haunt another house on Friday. Or he’s exhausted from inspiring so many “what the frak” moment, I had to post multiple ones in a week.

Either way, I apologize about the lack of Friday posts.

It was a good day.

Nothing exploded.

Nothing extra was tossed in the toilet.

All appliances continued to work.

Nobody was sick.

The credit card was not denied.

Oh. WAIT.

There was something. I just forgot about it because it happened to CG.

Friday’s Monday’s “What the frak…?” moment (WTFM) is brought to you by………..

Doctor’s Offices and Insurance Companies: Be warned. There could be asinine policies they never told you about.

Hopefully, this will be my only rant. Hopefully, this will not be an issue.

Hopefully.

Last December, I had a routine checkup – something fully covered on my insurance. However, in my haste to get there on time, I forgot my insurance card. It shouldn’t have mattered – my insurance was EXACTLY THE SAME from my previous visit.

Only this time, the office “had no record of any insurance on file.”

Excuse me? My OB was in this office. I had my baby in the Women’s Center ATTACHED to this building, plus five million prenatal visits where I sat in this very room.

Okay, not that many, but you get the point. How could they have zero record of my insurance???

I needed to get them a copy of my insurance card.

This was a lot more difficult than it sounds.

January arrived. I found the card I needed at my visit (after our new cards arrived in the mail), handed it to CG and say “they need to photocopy this. Please take care of it.”

Another month passed

Finally, upon threat of “they’ll probably send us to collections for not paying the bill they couldn’t submit because they lost my insurance information” he took it in.

He later informed me via instant messenger what happened:

CG: so I gave them our insurance card
Me: okaaaay
CG: she said the issue is that we may be way past our filing deadline
Me: they can bite me
CG: She is going to file it but she has no idea what about whether or not they will take it.

You have got to be kidding me, right? It had been less than three months since my visit! For a check up.

What was this arbitrary filing deadline? I could understand if five years had passed. Even a year.

But three months?

You have to frakking be kidding me.

It sounds fishy to me – another way to get screwed over by an already powerful company.

So hopefully, this is the last you’ll hear about it.

Hopefully.

And now you are warned – insurance companies have fine print you never see. Seriously, what the frak!!

Did you have a “what the frak…?” moment today?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in What the frack Friday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Where the Frak was “What the frak…?” Friday?

  1. Ironic Mom says:

    I love the “Nothing Exploded” series. So true, isn’t it? Every time I read about US health insurance (and every time I go to the dentist and have to wonder what my insurance company will pay for), I am so thankful for our universal health care. When my doctor puts a prescription in my hand, I just sail out of her office, without stopping to wonder.

    Okay, it’s Monday morning and I’m getting political. Clearly I need more caffeine.

  2. Kir says:

    I didn’t know about “WHAT THE FRAK” and I have to say I Like it….me Likey. 🙂

    your Friday was busy helping me….(SMILE) I’m just glad it was uneventful. Whew, one week down.

    and as far as Insurance, they can bite me. I do hope that they do not give you ANY reason to say “WHAT THE FRAK”

  3. educlaytion says:

    These big insurance companies are the reason I took up sorcery in the first place. Now when I get sick it’s just some eye of newt and a Harry Potter / Nanny McPhee double feature. I’m right as rain in no time.

Leave a Reply

