The Wrong Side of the Way Too Early Bed

My Lil Diva arose bright and early this morning: around 6:15 AM.

Yesterday, she only napped for thirty minutes. The day before? About 45 minutes.

My son woke up “on the wrong side.” Every tiny thing in the universe has lead to a whiny, upset pseudo-tantrum.

My Lil Diva is napping off schedule as I type this – something I avoid at all costs. You know how bad it must be to allow such a thing to happen.

The face Lil Diva made for fifteen minutes straight before I gave in.

Right now I’m supposed to be walking out the door to go to a class at the gym. My guess? Lil Diva will sleep just long enough I miss any chance of attending any classes today.

Because today? Just one of those Wrong Side of the WAY Too Early Bed Days. Or as the book my sister gifted to The Tackler for his birthday is titled: a Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day.

I’ll survive it, as long as too many of them don’t assault me in a row….

…. but I can’t wait to have my happy kids back.

How is your day going?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Lil Diva, The Tackler and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Wrong Side of the Way Too Early Bed

  1. kbomb78 says:

    Amen, it’s funny how we let our kids attitudes direct our day! It will get better, Hope tomorrow is better

    • I don’t know if we “let” them, so much as be at their unbending mercy.

      It did get better – the unscheduled nap was three hours – her first decent nap in the last week, just late enough to last until bedtime. Had it been only a power nap, it would have been very bad.

      Here’s hoping they wake up on the right side tomorrow…

  2. Kir says:

    my children have not been sleeping well either, they nap at daycare, but they have been going to bed between 10 and 11 pm. That’s right , 2 hours AFTER I do, so really when 6am comes and they need to get up, fights ensue.

    I hope your happy kids are back soon, I hope they bring mine with them. 😉

    • What? 10-11? Methinks the daycare naps should be a bit shorter or at a different time. I hate that my son gave up his naps – I miss that time. Yet I love that he no longer naps – we can do more things, we no longer battle at naptime, and he goes to bed before 8:30 now, instead of 9:30 or later.

  3. Faith Still says:

    We have been dealing with sleep issues too. It’s no fun to be tired all day and then up in the middle of the night with kids. No matter what they somehow always wake up early. My 17 month old is crying right now as he doesn’t want to take a much needed nap. I think he may have just stopped crying! Praise God!!! I really enjoyed your post which I stumbled from your blog hop.

    Here is my post.
    http://www.homeecathome.com/2/post/2011/02/cooking-with-kids-cupcake-decorating.html

    Faith from Home Ec @ Home
    homeecathome.com

    I will subscribe to your blog too.

    • I can’t wait to check it out!

      Sleep issues are the bane of my existence – typically courtesy of teething and ear infections. Today I got lucky, her “off” nap was actually a three hour nap – enough to last until bedtime. Before you lynch me for having a child that napped that long, know that she hasn’t slept more than 45 min for nap all week.

      So the day was a trial, but it could’ve been much much worse.

Leave a Reply

