Chocolate Dreams and Lessons in Reigning in the Chaos

I dreamed of chocolate Saturday night.

My sister and I were at a bakery, and we ordered this incredibly awesome chocolate mousse cake (about the size of a football field), that we’d eaten there before.

They gave us some weird crap with peppermint ice cream in middle instead.

Naturally, Dream Me went to the counter, argued that peppermint ice cream does not belong in the middle of chocolate mousse cake, and demanded to have the proper cake prepared for us.

Because Dream Me? Totally craving this particular chocolate.

I woke up just as I was about to dive into the correct cake.

I took this dream as a sign: bake brownies.

As I wrote this,  five minutes were left on the timer as I listened to my Lil Diva moan over the baby monitor – she wanted to stay up and party for the Oscars – and Shaft the Cat purred contentedly on my lap while rendering one arm useless.

It was the first time I sat down since morning.

This was another productive weekend, as I continued the battle of Household Organization aka Reclaiming My Bedroom and My Office from Stuff.

This resulted in many trips to Lowe’s for CG in the Quest to Transform Useless Space to Used Space via The Great Garage Shelving Project of 2011.

Lessons Learned:

  1. When taking just The Tackler to Lowe’s, CG should use his phone to distract him. Left to The Tackler’s own devices – he is too big to fit into the cart – he climbed over everything. This caused The CG Irritation Level to rise and stay elevated.
  2. When bringing just Lil Diva to Lowe’s, pack enough food to feed an elephant – because Lowe’s is like marijuana for babies – it caused a serious case of the munchies where, “I had to feed her the entire time.” Welcome to my world, honey….
  3. The Tackler can be incredibly awesome at home as Daddy’s Helper. Today he was The Fetcher: grabbing anything non-deadly that CG requested.
  4. Never let The Tackler possess both tape measures. Because they will disappear and delay The Great Garage Shelving Project until eight hours later when you find them with a pair of pliers hiding in the trunk of a toy car.
  5. Walmart needs larger carts. It is not possible to fit a large plastic bin (much less eight) into one of their carts and still have the baby riding portion be usable.

The shelves are only about 75% done after a weekend. I think. It could be up to 85% now.

My part will require more extensive time, as I once again go through baby clothes and sort the Too Small and Will Never Use from the Too Small and Want to Keep from the Will Need Next Winter from the Won’t Need Until Next Summer and discover the Where the Frak Did This Come From.

The scariest thing? I’m excited about this project. Giddy even. About ORGANIZING.

Me!

Because when it is done, my master bedroom should be a bedroom again, not 40% storage closet. My office will no longer be The Dump: where mail, toys, and Rockband go to hide from the kids.

My plans for the rest of Sunday night? Eat brownies. Browse through two hours of the Oscars in ten minutes. Attempt to find inspiration for my next Red Dress Club writing prompt.

Such a crazy, wild, and brownie ridden night at the House of Chaos.

How was your weekend?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in The Tackler and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chocolate Dreams and Lessons in Reigning in the Chaos

  1. Paige Morgan says:

    I love that you dream about chocolate! I do too! Really!

  2. educlaytion says:

    Mmmm…Brownies…

    The other night I dreamed that I could dance like a lobster moves. It was wild and I remember thinking I looked like MC Hammer. So that was kind of awesome right?

Leave a Reply

