Top 5 Life Skills Acquired in the Last Month – by a Seventeen Month Old

The posts have been Tackler centric this week, and I still have to finish his birthday tale, so naturally this is the perfect time to post about how my Lil Diva has changed in just the last month – her 17 month old mark getting lost in The Tackler Turning Four.

She has acquired several amusing or helpful skills – only one I’m not a huge fan of.

Top 5 Life Skills Acquired by Lil’ Diva in the Last Month

 

Nobody's shoes are safe...

Life Skill #1 – Walking in Someone Else’s Shoes

It is truly important to understand how it feels to “walk in someone’s shoes”, whether it be a Mommy, and Daddy, or a Grandma G.

Lil Diva takes this ability quite literally.

This new favorite pastime has the side effect of adding an additional ten minutes to leaving the house – as we hunt for everybody’s shoes.

Life Skill #2 – Cleaning Up After Yourself

Nothing thrills my baby girl more than to toss something to the floor with zeal, and then follow it with an “uh-oh.”

This skill could come in handy...

Lately, she can be asked to please pick up the offending item and she will actually do it. If she spilled something – like her milk, because she was once again being too literal and attempted to create a milkshake – you can hand her a paper towel and she will almost get the mess wiped up. Or at least smeared to the point of not being noticeable.

Life Skill #3 – Communing With Nature

It’s no secret the Lil Diva has always craved outside time – just as her brother before her. During a recent park excursion, as we were walking along the trail, she actually stopped for about ten minutes and either observed or communicated telepathically with a squirrel.

Lil Diva's new friend.

I have no idea what they were saying, as I observed from a distance, but both participants were riveted by each other.

Life Skill #4 – The Poopy Diaper Plop

Just during the last week my favorite – and most helpful – skill has emerged: The Poopy Diaper Plop.  When that oh-so-dear-god-what-is-that-smell aroma reaches my nose at home, I go to the cupboard, grab a diaper and say, “Did you poop? Go lay down so we can change the poopy diaper,” and instead of playing the Run and Hide Game of the past, she will actually run to her changing pad, flop down like a limp doll, and wait for me.

This, however, does not guarantee she will not roll away, half naked, once the stinky refuse is removed.

Life Skill #5 – Let There Be Light. Or Not.

Finally, the last skill -which has already necessitated reorganizing the furniture.

Onoffonoffonoffonoffonoff.

After mere minutes of observation of her brother and careful calculations, Lil Diva learned the proper Climb Onto the Toy Chest Ascent which allowed her access to the most fascinating of inventions:

The light switch.

Oh, to have a camera (other than a cell phone or iPod) that actually worked to capture the mischievous grin of delight as she discovered the joys of maniacally flipping it up and down – the power at the mercy of her tiny fingertips.

There you have it, the top five life skills my baby girl learned this last month.

Oh, and she now says the word “poop,” but only while getting her diaper changed.

What new funny/scary/helpful/frustrating skills has your child learned lately?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Lil Diva, Top 5 Lessons and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Top 5 Life Skills Acquired in the Last Month – by a Seventeen Month Old

  1. Fun list, Kelly. I especially like the squirrel-Diva faceoff. I’m whistling that old gunfight theme from the westerns as I type.

    Tax Credit #4 is big into other people’s shoes right now. That stage is one of my favorites. I don’t know how they manage to navigate around in those boats, but they do.

    • I have a photo somewhere of the Tackler at age 2 wearing my brother’s size 14 shoes… So priceless.

      Does TC#4 get into KAW’s heels? I can see him rocking those…

      The squirrel face-off was unexpected, but highly amusing. So glad I still had Bobbi’s camera at that point to capture it.

      Note: get camera fixed this weekend or buy a new one. The lack of camera for these moments is killing me.

      Thanks for popping by Chase. I hope The Croup is banished once again from your house.

  2. Elena says:

    What a doll! I love #2 – can she come over and clean our mats as well? 😉

    • I’m diligently working to foster this skill. Oh to have at least one child that hates messes. My son was okay with them, as long as they weren’t on his hands (until about age 2).

      I’m willing to loan her out for two hours a day so I can do laundry. Just hide your shoes.

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

  3. Lydia says:

    Loved this! And it brought back memories, #4 was my all time favorite back in the day,except for when the roll away didn’t always wait for me to finish wiping before it started. (And how supercute is your diva?)

    • Funny thing about #4 I learned tonight – it only works for me so far – not my husband. Tonight I told her to plop on the mat, and she did, but as soon as my husband approached her, she fled in the “you can’t catch me mode.”

      She stays for me. 🙂

    • Thanks, Lydia. I think she’s super cute too, but I think I’m predisposed to think so after incubating her for ten months.

      The roll. My son was a master roller and she is very quick to. She isn’t nearly as kind to my husband as she is to me…

      Thank you for commenting and stopping by!

  4. MamaRobinJ says:

    Too funny. I love watching them figure this stuff out. One of Connor’s favourite things is to walk around in my heels. He looks lovely 😉

    Thanks for linking up for Fledgling Friday!

    • I am certain my Diva would love heels, but mine are buried deep in my closet along with all of my “work” clothes that read “dry clean only.”

      I’m kinda a sneaker person – comfort kicks fashion to the curb. Sad, I know.

      Be sure you get a photo of Connor walking the runway. 🙂

      Thanks for having a Fledgling Friday to link to? It’s an awesome idea!

  5. Love these! Your daughter is precious. My twin girls are only 5 months, but already seem to think poopy diapers are hilarious.

    • Twin girls? Do you sleep? Ever?

      Maybe you can use peer pressure when it’s potty training time….

      I do love my Lil Diva, even during those hair pulling, heart stopping moments. Especially then.

      I foresee much fun in your future.

      Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting!

  6. Leighann says:

    The things children discover and find fascinating opens up a brand new world!!
    Lil Diva on the bench reaching for the light switch is priceless.

  7. mysoulforsale says:

    This is an adorable post! Your little girl is just beautiful!

  8. Pingback: To Potty Train, or Not to Potty Train. That is the Question. | Dances with Chaos

Leave a Reply

