High Crawling Daredevil Mixed with Early Evolved Environmentalist: Tacklerism Tuesday

There are certain curses challenges to raising an extremely active, highly impressionable, no fear of falling child.

Children really, because Lil Diva is currently about a year ahead of where the Tackler was on Climbing Ability.

This does not bode well for my future.

The weather pattern this last week has been: dreary, cool, foggy and misty in the morning, followed by sunny, warm and breezy every afternoon. This has resulted in frequent post-Lil-Diva’s-nap sojourns to Our Park – a lovely two block walking distance from our house.

It was during this latest Texas Kicks Winter Back North Until Next Year warming trend where I learned The Tackler’s newest Scare the Crap of Mommy Skill.

Monkey bar climbing.

I am not speaking of the classic Dangle and Drop method, the creator of so many of our childhood callouses. Nope. That was simply too tame. And safe.

No, I am talking about the Climb On TOP of the Monkey Bars That Are High Over Mommy’s Head and Then Crawl OVER Them So if I Slip and Tumble Off I’m Certain to Break My Neck method.

This is not to be confused with last week’s Tacklerism Tuesday where he was climbing on the tops of the railings and on the outside of different playground equipment.

My first exposure to his new “trick” went something like this…

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

I sat, plopped in the tiny dusty rocks coating the entire playground area, my Lil Diva trying to eat acorns handing me her treasured acorns, and glanced up – a sixth sense telling me To Look.

There, perched six feet off the ground was The Tackling Monkey, crouched as if to start the 100 meter dash, paused in motion, eyes expectantly searching for my gaze while he waited for me to notice his dare devil accomplishment.

The look says it all as he peers through my zoom lens from the height of 6 feet...

My first reaction was fear – to protect him from himself. To yank his monkey bar climbing behind down from there and forbid him to climb them again. My heart raced as I closed the distance, Lil Diva in my arms as I ran toward him.

He didn’t move, still poised in the yoga downward facing dog position.

“Mommy, I want to go across.”

As I stood there, watching him shine with his (then) nearly 4 year old pride, I knew that banishment from danger would never work for my free climbing monkey.

It wouldn’t have worked for me either, at that age.

“Okay sweetie, but only when Mommy or Daddy are standing underneath to watch you. You have to wait for us.”

And he was off, carefully stepping across the zigzagged monkey bars while I simultaneously spotted him and kept the other eye on Lil Diva.

Precision. Calculation. Caution.

He actually used these skills to cross, the height and precarious position infusing him with the tiniest bit of wariness.

And as he reached the other side, joyful, triumphant, I cheered with him.

“That was awesome, sweetie! Just be sure to only do that when Mommy or Daddy are next to you.” I reiterated my earlier comment, hoping it would sink in.

“I need to cross again. I have to escape Lotso!” He flew back to the beginning side, on the ground, and climbed up again.

Just when I thought I could almost relax on playgrounds….

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Last weekend CG did some much needed trimming of many of our front yard shrubs – four years of crazy chaotic kids causing us to miss the perfect “Chop Everything Back to the Stumps Before the New Growth Starts” window as the bushes tried overtake the driveway like a scene in a bad Stephen King movie adaptation.

Two of the bushes are gone, the bare skeleton stumps of its previously massive overgrowth. I’m pretty sure they’ll grow back…

BEFORE

One of the driveway twins before the hacksaw.

The aftermath showing the other twin: you can see by the dead grass, how it used to try to overtake the driveway...

As the Tackler surveyed the destruction wrought by Daddy, he said:

“But Daddy, if you cut down the bushes, the bugs won’t have a home.”

That’s my boy. Tackler of sisters, climber of the tops of playground equipment, and habitat protector of bugs.

Gotta love him.

What cool/funny/scary thing(s) has your child(ren) said or done today?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Tacklerisms and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to High Crawling Daredevil Mixed with Early Evolved Environmentalist: Tacklerism Tuesday

  1. Dawn says:

    Thankfully Liv was not into climbing like a monkey, like her mom was. I didn’t get a chance but wish Chase a belated Happy Birthday for us. Liv has enjoyed jumping in the huge piles of leaves this weekend, just makes u wish u were still little to join in the fun.

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention High Crawling Daredevil Mixed with Early Evolved Environmentalist: Tacklerism Tuesday | Dances with Chaos -- Topsy.com

  3. educlaytion says:

    He’s like a humanitarian daredevil 🙂 I never went near monkey bars for a long time. He’s naturally adventurous. Guess that’s what makes him the Tackler.

Leave a Reply

