Beware of the Monsters and Dinosaurs in Your Walls: Tacklerism Tuesday

Even if you’re not a parent, chances are you’ve seen at least one or more of Pixar’s Toy Story movies.  I owned Toy Story 1 and 2 before I even conceived The Tackler.

Every time I viewed one of those movies, nostalgia hit me.

One day, long ago, I used to live in my imagination too – before school, work, and other responsibilities shoved the “kid in me” into a Time Out.

The Tackler hits the four year old mark in less than two weeks, and he reminds me every day how incredibly awesome The Imagination is.

Monday, as Lil Diva finally took a nap longer than thirty minutes, I was thrown back in time to my childhood as The Tackler and I had rare uninterrupted one-on-one Imagination Time.

“Mommy, you have to stay close to me. I’m protecting you from the monsters in the walls. And the dinosaurs.”

That’s right, my son, the Tackler, also spends his afternoons as a Space Ranger: protector of Mommies from the evil forces of Wall Monsters. And dinosaurs.

Hiding in the Space Ranger Cave while plotting out next move against the Monsters in the Wall. And Dinosaurs.

His laser works against both.

So if you’re all alone, and you come into contact with these creatures, who ya gonna call?

Space Ranger Tackler: Buster of Monsters and Ghosts.

Has your child(ren) done or said anything funny lately?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Tacklerisms and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Beware of the Monsters and Dinosaurs in Your Walls: Tacklerism Tuesday

  1. Dianne says:

    Yesterday my newly 3 year old son told me “Mommy, I like candy…I am Lord of Candy!!”

    • I love it! It sounds like he has the ruling thing down..

      The things my boy will do for candy. He only just realized what it was this previous Halloween, but I’ve found it to be an effective reward for good behavior – in bite sized form.

  2. suizyq says:

    HA! the tackler is adorable. My informer just turned 5!!! When he woke the morning of his big exciting day I of course did the birthday dance. Through his sleepy haze he says..”Where is everyone?, Where is the cake?” I tell him they are at work or school and cake will be later after dinner. “Oh! OK mommy, then it’s not my birthday yet, not until the cake”….

    • I love his logic! The Tackler would concur only I think presents would rule over cake for proper birthday classification. 🙂

      Whenever I ask what he wants to do for his birthday he says, “I want lots and lots of presents. And cupcakes.”

      Priorities…

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

  3. Trish Loye Elliott says:

    So cute! Love this age and what comes out of little people’s mouths. Fun post!

    • I think it helps our Writing Brains to be surrounded by such overactive imaginations: to remind us where our stories come from.

      You never know what they’ll say next, or where their thought process will take them – like a box full of loose pages from a library of books – stacked haphazardly together in random order.

      I love it!

  4. educlaytion says:

    Hey, those monsters ain’t no joke. And the dinosaurs. I never forget the dinosaurs. He’s brave.

  5. Paige Morgan says:

    It’s so true, we shelve imagination for motivation that leads to frustration and less elation! Can I be four in two weeks too?

    Happy Early Birthday Tackler!

    • Kids are great for returning us to our imagination roots – reminding us to cut loose and not be so serious all the time.

      It’s also great free entertainment.

      Sometimes I wish I was four. Then I recall how I hated having a bedtime….

  6. Watching that creativity and imagination in one’s children is definitely a highlight of parenting.

  7. I am yet to see any of these series…..what a dork I am. My daughter says funny things since she is two….she commands the door to open…so she says ….”you! door! open!”…funniest thing ever.

Leave a Reply

