Stomach Viruses, The Cough, and Ear Infections.. Oh My!

I think I see the light at the end of the tunnel. The end to my banishment into Quarantine.

Oh please let it be The Light and not another type of purgatory – where actual purging takes place.

It’s been a week and half since The Stomach Virus slammed into our family while on vacation – with Lil Diva as Ground Zero.

It teased us, as CG, then The Tackler fell victim about every two to three days.  Just when we thought someone had escaped – BOOM!  Toilet worshipping time.

Only I survived unscathed – thanks to my inexplicable but much appreciated Scary Stomach Virus Kicking Immune System.

The after affects of The Stomach Virus lingered for days – making it virtually impossible to go anyplace a bathroom was not located within fifteen feet.  The coldest weather we’ve had in the eight winters I’ve lived in Texas didn’t help either.

Finally, the Tackler showed signs of returning to his typical kamikaze self.

I breathed a sigh of relief.

My mistake.

After two days of expelling enough drool and snot to rival Slimer – Lil Diva spiked another fever.

With her, as with the Tackler at that age:

Drool + Runny nose + Fever + Molar and canine teeth breaking through gums = EAR INFECTION

She stopped napping more than 30 minutes.

At the park - before the camera died.

She raised the cranky factor.

She transformed back into the Screaming Banshee.

The drainage caused our old friend The Cough to return – waking her from a deep sleep and pissing her off more than when CG steals my last chocolate pudding cup and I’m craving chocolate.

Now she’s on antibiotics…. again.. and the fever is gone.

The teeth are still fighting their way through while The Cough remains – along with the mercurial temperament from laughing to Screaming Banshee in a millisecond.

On the positive side, the Tackler has been An Angel today – engaging in self imaginative play after overdosing on Sick Time TV most of last week – I think he watched more television in two days (all PBS and Disney) than he has in the last six months.

It’s only about a 1000% improvement over my poor boy whimpering as he hurled the limited contents of his stomach into the toilet or onto the floor last week.

Now if I could just banish the Banshee again, some of my sanity my return.

I might even be allowed to clean my house – which currently resembles a battle zone riddled with exploded toy chest bombs, Cheerio and Rice Chex grenades, and the littered clothing of laundry zombies.

It’s interfered with my blogging time as I slowly unearth my house from the mass chaos that has been in effect since our return home – it took almost a week to unpack and put the luggage away while The Virus ran rampant.

I have high motivation – once I can see my counters and floors again I can actually have the cleaning service come and decontaminate everything.

Here’s hoping The Screaming Banshee finally has a decent nap today.

And that my Scary Stomach Virus Kicking Immune System doesn’t suddenly decide to have an epic #fail.

Because as bad as it’s been, it can always get worse.

Anyone else been fighting seeming unending illnesses lately?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Lil Diva, The Tackler and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Stomach Viruses, The Cough, and Ear Infections.. Oh My!

  1. Ironic Mom says:

    I feel your pain, except most days I get to go to work (my husband stays home). My daughter has been fighting a nasty infection for 10 days. Last night was the first night she didn’t wake up with a 102+ fever. I think I hear the Hallelujah chorus playing in my brain. Maybe that’ll jiggle some of my dormant brain cells into action.

    May the health gods be with you all!

    • Wow. I hope she’s finally over it (insert gospel choir chorus here). That’s a long time to have that high of a fever.

      Lately I’m more impressed lately when I read a blog where the kids are not sick. This is the year of the Stomach Virus (I hear about it more than anything).

      Last year was the The Year of Croup – something you hardly ever hear about.

      Prior to that was The Year of the Flu.

      If you have kids, you’re pretty much just frakked.

      I’m certain Thing 1 & 2 could help you jiggle the brain cells to action. They could always re-enact the Mybusters: Semis versus VW Bug myth.. only tweak the it with Thing 1 & 2 versus Mom…

  2. educlaytion says:

    Yes, it can always get worse. Even though we hate saying things like that you’re wise to just keep repeating the positive mantra. The end is near!!

  3. just stay out of the hospital…we’re over strep only to be walloped with some respiratory bug now. please, oh please winter, please end b/c the germs are beginning to overtake us.

    been thinking of you all. smiles and hugs….

    • I’m lucky in that my kids will get sick, but stop just before the hospital rushing level of illness.

      They like to save hospital visits for stitches.

      So far.

      I can’t even imagine.

      Ditto on this freakishly cold winter weather. I want my 60’s back (which is really our average high).

      On the other hand, summer can take its sweet time to return.

  4. Lori says:

    UGH! You poor thing! I hope it is on it’s way out! We had it last year and it lasted 8 weeks between the girls and my hubs! I have the same kick butt screw you virus kicking stomach too. We must be moms!

    • I’m happy to report, except for The Cough, my kids are finally back to their old selves.

      Sadly, Lil Diva chose her old Screaming Banshee self over the Sweet Happy Giggler self thanks to the new teeth.

      Now if those teeth would just finish.. we could be done until the 2 year molars..

      I cannot wait until teething is done.

  5. Lori Dyan says:

    Ugh. Hope you all feel better now…

    It’s the Law of Mommy that we never get sick enough to warrant someone taking care of us…

    • I think I have had two sick days (where CG actually had to stay home) since the The Tackler was born. The worst was when I got the flu while six weeks pregnant with Lil Diva – I was so exhausted I could barely get up to empty my I’m Pregnant and Must Pee Every 30 Minutes Bladder, must less take care of my very active 2 year old. I was out of it for a week, but I only had the one sick day – compared to when CG gets the flu and gets three or more sick days for it….

      But usually, the Law of Mommy is fully enforced. If I am sick enough for a sick day, I’m not taken care of, so much as “I don’t have to take care of anyone else.”

  6. Pingback: Top 10 Reasons I’m Afraid to Click “Purchase” For Plane Tickets | Dances with Chaos

  7. Pingback: Oh, So THAT is Why You Were Screaming… | Dances with Chaos

Leave a Reply

