Up for Worst Day Ever and Not Even 9:30 AM – My Groundhog Day

Today so far:

  • Rolling blackouts – the power won’t stay on more than 30 minutes. My house is about 60 degrees.
  • The Tackler puked around 3 AM. I blissfully slept through it. CG was up scrubbing sheets and putting down towels. He is now Contagious.
  • Woke up to no power and cold house. Had to give Tackler a lesson on how our house’s “batteries” weren’t working so I could not make his Eggos.
  • Lil Diva woke up and for third day in a row, had Poopapalooza – down leg, up front, up back = everywhere.
  • Power was out again – she got hosed down in sink in 60 degree air and was not happy. CG did not escape the changing unscathed and now needs a new shirt – he must learn to watch out for stomping poop covered feet.
  • Tackler now appears to have diarrhea also – leaked onto underwear after wearing less than thirty minutes.
  • CG is scrubbing all clothes, which I can’t actually wash until power stays on.
  • I can’t escape to gym, or playplace, or anywhere with power because The Tackler is Contagious.

Help.

I’m posting this before I lose power again.

I hope everyone’s day is going better than mine.

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Lil Diva, The Tackler, What the frack Friday and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Up for Worst Day Ever and Not Even 9:30 AM – My Groundhog Day

  1. mypajamadays says:

    Oh Kelly! I am so sorry. Sick kids are the worst, and then add the powering being out. I can’t imagine. Do you have a fireplace? Supplies for smores? I’m always thinking with my stomach. Big hugs…hypethetically speaking of course. Your house is contagious.

    – Emily

    • Emily – We do have a fireplace, but I’m pretty sure power is required to light it – it’s gas. Plus our TV uses the fireplace as a TV stand…

      S’mores fixings would have only tortured the poor Tackler who kept nothing down that day.

      Today Lil Diva got another fever – a week after her first one. I think she might now have an ear infection.

      The Tackler’s stomach was okay yesterday – not so much today – something didn’t agree with him.

      Thanks for the cyber hugs – definitely still too contagious for real ones. 🙂

  2. Dianne says:

    That does sound terrible! I hope everyone feels better quickly and power comes back on fast!

  3. educlaytion says:

    Ouch! I hope this reaches you through the disaster day. Tomorrow will be way better. What a range of emotion you’ll have for the FFF!

    • I was very thankful that was not a true Groundhog Day – or I would have lost it faster than Bill Murray. As I wrote the FFF and pondered Groundhog Day, the sheer feeling of absolute horror hit me at the simple thought of repeating this day for the next 10-100 years…

      The rest of the week – while not perfect – has been much better.

  4. Briana says:

    Oh man! That sounds horrible! I wasn’t have the best day, but it was nowhere near that bad. Hopefully today is better!!!

  5. marinasleeps says:

    Dude I feel you … that us yesterday too.
    Now I hate the words rolling and blackouts!

    • It wouldn’t have been so bad if it had actually “rolled” and not “rolled over you, reversed, and hit you again – repeated for seven hours.”

      A single 15-20 minute blackout as the claimed would be the maximum would have been perfectly acceptable.

      Sorry you had to go through it too.

  6. Pingback: FFF: There’s Just Something About…Bill Murray? « EduClaytion

  7. Pingback: Part 3 of The Murphy’s Law of Vacations: A Special Addition of “What the frak?” Friday | Dances with Chaos

  8. Pingback: Blame It on the Squirrel… and My 400th Post | Dances with Chaos

Leave a Reply

