Part 2 of The Murphy’s Law of Vacations: A Special Addition of “What the frak?” Friday

A Special Addition “What the frak…?” moment (WTFM) is brought to you by………..

The Murphy’s Law of Vacations: if something can go wrong, it will go wrong.  Horribly wrong.

Part 2 of the Special Three Part Vacation Addition of “What the frak?”

Part 2: The Curse of the Camera

It is no secret to anyone that reads my blog, that I have a love for photography.   Even though I am nowhere near a professional level, I do excel at capturing the little moments and expressions of my children.

So naturally I lugged my SLR camera on vacation with us, intent on capturing our first true Vacation with Children on film.

Unbeknownst to me, the Camera Gods were out partying with Part 1’s Airplane Gods that weekend.

First, it lulled us into a false sense of security as it documented our visit to the Denver Aquarium.

"There are fish there... and there.. There are fish EVERYWHERE!"

Without it, we wouldn’t have this shot of Lil Diva demonstrating how fish are everywhere.

It captured the Denver Union Station as we waited for our two hour delayed train.

Then, as we pulled away on the train, it happened.

It refused to take a photo.

It would focus.

But if you looked into the viewfinder, all you saw was one word: busy.

And no matter what we did, every time we tried to take a photo, it complained of the same thing.

BUSY.

Less than twenty-four into our trip, and my camera was useless.

Which is why there are so few photos of this vacation.

Until CG finds out what exactly we can do to fix it – so far he’s only found the “You’re screwed, but you can send it back to Canon” type solutions – I am left with my crappy iPod camera and my cell phone camera.

All because cameras are now little computers themselves – just waiting to crash at the most inopportune moment.

Who actually updates their camera’s firmware?????

This breakdown came less than a month after getting my new lens for Christmas, to replace the old lens where the cheap plastic contacts broke that held it to the camera.

Little did I know, the camera would soon be the least of my worries…

But still.. “What the frak?!?!?”

P.S. Anyone know how to fix it???

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in What the frack Friday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Part 2 of The Murphy’s Law of Vacations: A Special Addition of “What the frak?” Friday

  1. educlaytion says:

    Bummer K. I’m sitting here pondering which experience I would rather have, the diaper blowout or the broken camera. I would definitely rather lose the camera!

    • It’s funny… because “in the moment” I would also pick the camera over the The Great Airplane Blowout. Hands down.

      But long term, I’d take the blowout. It really only translated to about 40 minutes of Mommyhood Torture and a rather stinky skinned child until we were able to get her into a bath. As with all explosively messy moments, they pass and you move on and do the best you can at the time.

      The camera not working means I missed many of those priceless moments that only an SLR is fast enough to capture on our vacation, and it will affect me until we finally find a fix – resulting in more missed moments in time I will forget if not recorded in digital form.

      But at the time of the Great Airplane Blowout…. Yeah…. anything but that.

  2. Katie says:

    Sorry I have no guidance for you, other than to trek down to your local camera shop and have a camera pro look at it. I know that CG is pretty much a god with anything electronic, but I don’t know that I’d trust anyone who’s not intimately familiar with digital SLRs fiddle around with my camera. There are so many delicate pieces and functions that can be jacked up beyond repair if he’s even slightly off in his tinkering.

    • We’re going to try to clean it first, but I fear the camera shop might be in my future. I hate not being able to take photos except with a cell phone – those are fine in high light where the person holds still, but that is something my children rarely do…

      • Katie says:

        My camera has a self-cleaning function for the internal mechanisms of the camera — that way you don’t have to try to stick anything in there. Check to see if yours has one. And I’ve been advised by people who know to NEVER put a rag or cloth or anything inside your SLR camera. You need to get canned air and then lock the mirrors (there should be a function on your menu to lock your mirrors in place for cleaning) and use the can of air to try to blow anything out. Cloths, etc. are ok on your lenses, but not on the internal parts of the camera body — can do serious damage.

  3. Dianne says:

    Try removing your lens and cleaning the connections. This can be as simple as blowing on them or using a very soft cloth on them.

  4. Ironic Mom says:

    My method of fixing things that I don’t understand is to whack them. If that doesn’t work, I whack them harder.

    • That used to be an old favorite of mine before I married CG who can fix about anything. Also, I’ve found it less effective as electronic parts become smaller and more delicate. My current cell phone does not appreciate the repeated beatings against my tile floor that my older model did.

Leave a Reply

