The Highs and Lows of the First Day of a “Real” Vacation – The First in Five Years

Why am I blogging on vacation?

So I don’t forget.

So my family can hear the details of our vacation without me having to repeat it four times when I’m too exhausted to hit the “on” button for the dishwasher right now.

Plus, my brain needs a little food other than “am I stupid enough to try a black diamond trail, or do I stick to the blues.”

So a quick sum up:

Tuesday was cold, but awesome.

It was the first time I have spent six uninterrupted hours alone with CG since The Tackler came into this world.

My fingers and toes were only numb for half the day.

Not a bad photo considering it was taken using a cell phone, by CG, and CG's fingers were about the size of giant sausages thanks to his gloves.

Lil Diva gloried in the constant attention and new toys in the day care center.

The Tackler, after a rocky start of not wanting CG or I to leave him inside at ski school, he warmed up to the idea.

According to his teacher, by afternoon he was performing speed laps on their smallest hill – showing no fear.

Or any apparent concern for braking.  Or even attempting to stop.

Maybe Wednesday….. when he gets to try round two.

So what if we ran late because we were exhausted from Lil Diva moaning half the night paired with the snow plow that had to get the walkway outside plowed at 6:30 AM and was so loud it vibrated the windows?

Or that the ice maker sounds like a possessed robot, even when we turned it off?

Or that our bedroom in the condo is a meat locker if we leave the door shut because the thermostat doesn’t work?

Ok, I admit it. I like that one since “meat locker” is my preferred temperature for sleeping.  CG… not so much.  The one works for the rest of the condo, so in my opinion, it’s almost perfect.

The day was A-W-E-S-O-M-E.

May the next few days be even better.

Night all.

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Lil Diva, The Tackler and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Highs and Lows of the First Day of a “Real” Vacation – The First in Five Years

  1. I L-O-V-E family vacations especially the ones that involve playrooms and “kid camps”.

    Enjoy every minute!

    Maija

    • This is our first one. It’s too hard to get away and do that when you’re the primary food giver to a child (i.e. nursing) and I pretty much went from that to pregnant after The Tackler was weaned. I’m just now reaching the “freedom” point with Lil Diva.

      I must say, the time is fabulous. 🙂

  2. Katie says:

    Where did you guys go in CO? We love skiing but haven’t gone since before i got pregnant with Jake. Always figured we’d have to wait until the kids could do ski school but didn’t realize the resorts have day cares. In that case, maybe next year!

    • We’re at Winter Park, which I feel is one of the most kid friendly ski resorts. Their ski school is AWESOME. They can start that once age 3 and potty trained. I highly recommend it!

      The day care is pretty nice too – just know you have to reserve it in advance and of course, nothing is cheap when you’re a non-local skier. 🙂

      So far, totally worth it because I do love to ski.

  3. educlaytion says:

    Congrats on getting some time alone with CG. Super important to have that. I hope you all have a great time!

  4. Mary says:

    isn’t skiing about how I pay a lot of money to work really hard?

    • Mary – You would think that, wouldn’t you.

      Oddly enough, the skiing invigorates me and I feel as though I could go all day.

      Of course an hour after I stop, I’m ready to pass out, but thankfully, by then it’s close to the kid’s bedtimes.

      Honestly, I’m more exhausted chasing after my two children all day than I am skiing… At least skiing I get regular six to ten minute breaks to sit down while riding the ski lift – my children often don’t allow me five minutes.

      And the peaceful quiet of the snowy mountains when normally surrounding by screeching children – it’s a slice of heaven.

      Worth every penny.

      Now if I could just have a good night’s sleep without waking children or insomnia, I would be pure bliss.

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

  5. Ironic Mom says:

    Wow. A daycare? Can I go there and start with the apres-ski?

    • I hear you. I think I’m going to miss this – and both kids are having a blast – in bed by 7:30 tonight (we’re still observing central time).

      The day care doesn’t care what you do with your time, as long as you pay them. 🙂 Sadly, daycare hours are only 8-4, so no nice relaxing evenings (more like massive chaos sharing 600 sq feet).

      I don’t want to leave…

Leave a Reply

