Beware of Mommy Travel Brain

I blame the lack of sleep.

That and the fact I haven’t ridden a non-scenic-supposed-to-actually-take-you-somewhere-train in about fifteen years.

You see, I didn’t check the train schedule.

Are you confused yet?

Let me explain.

I am currently sitting in an Amtrak Station.  Waiting for a train that we were supposed to be boarding shortly.

Only it’s not here.

And me, in my infinite train riding experience (which is to say, almost none) didn’t think to treat the train like any other transportation vehicle you buy tickets for.

I didn’t go online and see if it was running on time.

The time on the clock is when we were supposed to board - had the train been physically there. It was over two hours later that I finally showed up....

Ooops.

This meant I stuck to my Assume It Is On Time Schedule and have been awake since about 4:30 AM.

Naturally, I didn’t need to be awake until about 5:30 AM.

My Mommy Travel Brain: where I wake up and my  brain assumes it is THE wake up time and immediately goes through all the things I have to do to catch whatever mode of transportation I’m taking – is fully responsible for probably losing a full month’s worth of sleep just in the four years I’ve had children.  Including a few hours this morning.

“Check Train Schedule” is now another item to add to the ever-growing list.  At least when trains are involved.

Had I done so, I would’ve had more than 45 seconds to shovel food into my mouth for breakfast – I could have had an entire extra hour.

Lots of room to run amok... and get into trouble.

On the positive side, the train station is huge, wide open, and connected to an underground tunnel – giving us tons of space to have the children run amok and burn off the early morning energy before being cooped up in a train for two hours.

Lil Diva loves massive wooden benches.

The Tackler just wants to know where his train is.

And now my eyes are required for Child Wrangling.

Thanks to lack of wi-fi here, I won’t get a chance to post this until we reach our destination.

I can’t wait.

*** We arrived two hours late at our destination – but at least Lil Diva took a nap while on the train.

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Vacation and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Beware of Mommy Travel Brain

  1. Katie says:

    I’ve taken Amtrak on a couple of occasions and I’ve learned that it’s always late. One time, I was over 5 hours late arriving to my destination, which actually happened to be Denver.

    • As they pointed out, weather has a long standing effect on the train – a storm in the far east can delay the train and a day later it’s still behind because the same train still has to go from point A to point B…

      Ironically, this time it was weather in western Iowa that did it.

      I don’t even live there anymore and it’s still controlling my vacations.

      A part of me hopes it’s about an hour late to pick us up…. but any more than that and we’ll have some “interesting” bedtimes that night…

Leave a Reply

