Disastrously Different Duo of “Doh!” Moments – Friday’s “What the frak?”

Friday’s “What the frak…?” moment (WTFM) is brought to you by………..

The Disastrously Different Duo of “Doh!” Moments: Two things. Completely unrelated.  All avoidable.  Both suck.

Incident #1: Never leave an almost four year old alone in a bathroom with the water running for more than a minute.

This should go without saying, right?

I was lulled into a false sense of complacency – The Tackler is almost four years old.  He wakes up most mornings and will feed himself breakfast (cereal) and allow CG and I to sleep a few extra minutes.

He self entertains for hours, as long as his sister isn’t around to torture.

What I failed to take into account was:

  1. We’d practiced our letters with the dry erase cards, meaning he had marker on his hands.
  2. I hadn’t finished my “What the frak?” Friday post – which over the last month has lead to something in my life (appliances, house, kids) believing I need a good blog topic for that post.

As I finalized plans for the evening via instant message with CG, a noise broke my concentration: the sound of a waterfall.  More specifically, way too much water hitting my tiled floor at the same time.

I knew this noise well.  It was the same noise I heard when my toilets rebelled.

I sprinted immediately, confused because I hadn’t heard the toilet flush, but wrote it off as a feature of Mommy Brain Filtering (definition –  the coping mechanism a mother develops to filter out the cacophony of noises she’s subjected to for sixteen hours a day including but not limited to: screaming, screeching, and all sounds battery operated toys emit).

As I burst into the downstairs bathroom, I learned the toilet was not the responsible party.

My son was along with his partner in crime: The Sink.

What happens when The Sink becomes jealous of the attention The Toilet and The Fridge get.

In his infinite wisdom to remove the marker stains from his fingers, he neglected to turn off the water as The Sink filled, reached the brim, and then overflowed onto the floor.

As I quickly shut off the water and popped the drain (forgetting in my temporary insanity to photograph it first), I observed the casualties of this assault: the tile (naturally) and The Tackler’s pants and underwear.

That’s right. The Tackler was standing there, perplexed at how his quiet quest to cleanse his hands had evolved into clusterfrak – while naked from the waist down.

Now there’s an image.

Incident #2: Computer glitch, WordPress #Fail, or User Error?

As I went about my morning computer routine while devouring my breakfast of champions (Frosted Flakes), I noticed something… off.

I had a tab open to compose a blog, but nothing was written in the box.

Even more strange, it had a title and was a saved work in progress: the beginnings of my Part 2 of The 12 Days of Sickmas blog.

Panicked, I opened the post for editing in another tab, noticing that it hadn’t been saved since the previous night (and nothing new had been composed since the previous afternoon).

Nothing.

It was all gone. Erased.

Have you ever composed a long email to someone, pouring out all the crazy stuff in your head, everything you wanted to say to them, hit send, had your email client error (losing the entire email), been filled with so much frustration you couldn’t even think about rewriting it, and then sent off a short two sentence response instead???

Yeah. I have that feeling.  The idea of even beginning Part 2 again…

I don’t even want to think about it.

It’s made worse by not knowing+ exactly how it became erased.

Did a child somehow highlight it and delete it?

Did WordPress error out when my laptop locked up and the edit window was still open?

Did I do something in my Mommy Brain Induced Haze to expel it from existence?

Was it part of an elaborate Microsoft conspiracy to convince me to pre-write everything in Word and buy yet another frakking version of Office?

All I have to say is, “What the frak!?”

What caused you to say, “What the frak?” this week?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in The Tackler, What the frack Friday and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Disastrously Different Duo of “Doh!” Moments – Friday’s “What the frak?”

  1. educlaytion says:

    I know these experiences weren’t fun but you tell them delightfully! Not only can I relate, I too lost a work in progress this week as Comcast devoured an email I spent 15 minutes composing. I’ve lost blog posts and articles and book chapters in the past so I feel your pain. The image of Tackler is brilliant. Clusterfrack needs to appear in the upcoming Smurfs movie.

    • Kelly K says:

      Are there no new movie ideas in the world that they must remake all 80’s TV shows into movies?

      There’s an upcoming Smurfs movie??? Seriously? And wouldn’t it be clustersmurf? “My son was completely smurfed that he’d smurfed the smurfing sink and the water went smurfing everywhere while standing half naked showing his smurfs. Total clustersmurf.”

      Okay. That was way too much fun. I need to do a smurfs post now.

      I’m working on my writing imagery. I find if I focus on that, I’m less likely to what to curl into a corner and cry from frustration when something implodes. Good to know I’m making progress.

      As I read, “Comcast devoured an email I spent 15 minutes composing” the primary thought going through my head was, “Damn! That had to be close to 1000 words because he doesn’t have two children screaming in the background constantly interrupting him.”

      Thanks for reading and commenting, Clay. I always love your take on things. You smurfing rock.

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Disastrously Different Duo of “Doh!” Moments – Friday’s “What the frak?” | Dances with Chaos -- Topsy.com

  3. Paige Morgan says:

    Ah! I think I would had hid on Saturday because Friday was so scary! I hate that feeling of losing work on the computer! Hate it!

    • Kelly K says:

      I agree. Lost work – especially something you’ve spent hours slaving over – is one of my worst nightmares.

      And it’s happened far too many times.

      Some of the worst was in college (when I stupidly only had a single copy of a paper). I’d save it on floppy disk (remember those?) and the disk would get corrupted. OR, I’d take the disk to a computer lab to print it, the computer had a virus, and suddenly my paper was riddled with gibberish.

      Now I remember to save often and multiple places… except for my blogs which I usually compose in the WordPress window.

      I’m going to have to rethink that….

Leave a Reply

