Give This To My Daughter: A letter to my Angel Kiss

“What would you need your daughter to know if something were to happen to you?  What would you want to say if you weren’t here to tell her?” – Maija at Maija’s Mommy Moments

This question was put forth to me by an amazing blogger as she tweeted requests for guest bloggers on this very topic.

I was intrigued and without thinking, eagerly raised my hand.

What evolved was one of the most difficult, heart wrenching posts I’ve ever written – a far cry from my typical dry sarcasm.

I hope the day never comes for it to be needed.

But just in case, my baby girl has a letter from the Mommy who loves her more than anything.

Please read A Letter to My Angel Kiss over at Maija’s Mommy Moments.

And bring a Kleenex. You know… just in case.

Updated 3-14-11 – This is now posted on my blog here.

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Dances with Chaos, Guest Blog, Lil Diva and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Give This To My Daughter: A letter to my Angel Kiss

  1. Kelly,

    I loved every moment of reading your letter. It was so heart-felt and heart-wrenching. I could see myself telling my daughters the exact same things you were telling yours.

    Thank you so much for Guest Posting at Maija’s Mommy Moments. Hopefully you will do it again soon.

    Maija

  2. mypajamadays says:

    I left you a comment over at your “guest” post. Loved it!

    – Emily

  3. marinasleeps says:

    I am choking on these tears. I have two daughters. I wanna do the same.
    And for my baby boy too.
    Hell right now I can write everyone a letter cause now I am so damn emotional!

    • marinasleeps says:

      P.S. I do this thing on Friday called Favorite Blog Friday where I repost the post of the week that I liked.
      Would you mind if I posted yours tomorrow?

    • Kelly K says:

      I still have to do one for my son. It wouldn’t be right not to have one for him now.

      Go ahead and write them. Just be sure to have those tissues. Writing this was the first time my actual writing has teared me up in a very long time – as I typically stick to more of a humorous view of the House of Chaos.

      Proof that it’s good to step out of our comfort zones sometimes.

  4. Still tearing up. I tweeted it out but will have to leave a real comment for you on the other blog later today – when I’ve regained control of my tear ducts.

    Amy

    • Kelly K says:

      Amy – Thank you for tweeting it.

      I hope you had tissues nearby following the tear duct workout.

      I anxiously look forward to your “real comment” on Maija’s blog.

  5. Pingback: Favorite Blog Friday « Marina Sleeps's Blog

  6. Daria says:

    That was beautiful. Part of why I love blogging is capturing those feelings and these moments in writing. Great pictures and even better words.

    • Kelly K says:

      Daria – Thank you so much. That’s one of the reason I love to blog as well. I find I forget too many of The Moments otherwise to this horrible debilitating disease known as Mommy Brain. By blogging I can capture all of those moments: the sweet, the scary, the milestones, the hysterical, and the ones that I’ll be able to tell my grandchildren about.

      I find having children has brought my interest in photography as well. They change so quickly and I’m on a quest to capture every expression and pose.

Leave a Reply

