Guilt Trips and Tacklotato Head Cyborg: Tacklerism Tuesday

I have never liked the beginning of January, for a multitude of reasons.

I find I enjoy it even less now that I have children.

For one big reason: Christmas is over.

This means one thing: It is time for the Christmas decorations to come down.

I hate dismantling my (fake) tree.  Even more so, I miss the bright lights that cast my house and outside sidewalk in a warm glow.

It appears The Tackler inherited my sentiments.

Every time I mentioned it was time to take down the lights, he transformed his lips into a severe Sad Face, gave a few sniffs and asked, “Why?”

“Because Christmas is over.  See, all of those houses have already put away their lights until next year.”

The frown strength raised a few notches and then he said:

“I’m sad because everybody took down my Christmas lights. You can’t take the decorations down Mommy.”

The lights – thanks to Refrigerator Repair – have been given a week’s reprieve.

So we are one of the few houses that still have outdoor lights shining.  My Griswold tree still glows with the fire of the sun.

I must admit, I am getting tired of separating Lil Diva from the light strands – which she gleeful attacks when my back is turned.

Meanwhile, The Tackler laments the loss of our well lit neighborhood and the passing of Christmas.

Me too, buddy. Me too.

——

The Tackler got the Toy Story Mr. Potato Head for Christmas.

After first, Mr Potato Head had to perfectly mimic his movie character.

Then, a few days later, The Tackler discovered the true joy of Mr. Potato Head: There Are No Rules.

“Mommy! Mommy! Look!”

It was the Tackler, proudly thrusting his Mr. Potato Head into my face. Only he looked like this:

Dr Frankenstein Tackler's creation.

A few more variations followed.  Then, Mr Potato Head and The Tackler joined forces:

The Tacklotato Head Cyborg

It gave me a much needed laugh, on a day when my refrigerator went strike.

Thanks, buddy.

What fun thing has your child done or said today?

 

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Tacklerisms, The Tackler and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Guilt Trips and Tacklotato Head Cyborg: Tacklerism Tuesday

  1. aww, don’t feel bad, our lights are still up – inside and out – also. I *thought* about taking them down this weekend but my 10 year severely guilted me into keeping them up until after the “Epiphany”, a term she learned from my Catholic sister. It worked for me, I didn’t feel like getting off my lazy tush anyway!

    • Kelly K says:

      I just now took down the Christmas tree. Outside lights are next before we go into a Texas Deep Freeze (i.e. temperatures actually drop below freezing and stay below 50 degrees).

      We are the only people in our neighborhood with outside lights still, as of last night, the final house stopped turning on.

      Bah humbug. I hate losing lights. Anything that makes my children happy (and me) for a nice night walk just shouldn’t be taken down.

      Thanks for reading!

  2. Paige Morgan says:

    Our lights are still up, at my son’s request! Maybe we can start a movement… Love the Potato Head photos!

    • Kelly K says:

      The Tacklotato Head caught me so off guard, it was one of the times my son has made me literally Laugh Out Loud.

      I enlisted my son’s aid to take down the tree. He had fun, but it still didn’t stop him from asking constantly, “Mommy, why are you taking down my Christmas tree? It makes me sad, Mommy.”

      On the positive, I don’t have to keep dragging Lil Diva away from it as she tries to pull the lights out of their sockets and eat them.

  3. Katie says:

    Mine are still up too! I have a hard time taking down the Christmas decorations — it’s such a depressing day when all the pretties have to go away for another year.

  4. educlaytion says:

    The only rules of Mr. Potato Head are that there are no rules. I love that combination of my childhood and Fight Club 🙂

    • Kelly K says:

      Oh man.. I missed the perfect moment to weave that in, didn’t I. I’ve only seen that movie once and didn’t even realize the similarity (movie quotes being permanently ingrained in my subconscious until the opportune moment for usage).

      I could have also been the constant kid interruptions too. Nothing like only 34 seconds of peace to make your brain forget where you were going with a statement.

      Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

