On the Ninth Day Of Christmas, Dear Santa Gave to Me……

Welcome to Day 9 of The Twelve Days of Christmas (to be “read” like the song)…

I know, so incredibly original the concept blows your mind – Matrix style. This will be usurping the usual Tacklerism Tuesday and “What the frak?” Friday segments until completed.

* * *

On the ninth day of Christmas, dear Santa gave to me:

NINE sweet sticky rolls,

Eight sloppy snow angels,

Seven sneaky snatchings,

Six doting relatives,

Five free dinners,

Four hours of sleep,

Three spares in a row,

Two darling hellions angels,

And a brand new pack of 2 ply tee-pee.

* * *

It’s a “test run” for Christmas morning.

Mimi’s oven is considering going on strike.

CG and my brother tinkered with it and ordered a new part for a burner (three are on strike).  They claim to have “fixed” the oven.

We insisted Mimi do a dry run just to make sure her oven was up to the task of baking Mimi’s Famous Sticky Rolls come Christmas morning.

Because to me some of us, they are as intertwined with Christmas Day as the act of opening presents.

This batch will be mine…

Nine mouth watering future sticky rolls I'll have to fight my son, dad, and brother for.

…. and probably The Tackler’s.

Another one – minus the pecans The Tackler strategically spread around on the first batch – will be for my sister (thanks to a recently developed nut allergy) as well as me anyone still hungry for more rolls.

Tonight my G-ma and G-pa are “baby-sitting” the rolls while they rise in anticipation for breakfast tomorrow.  In my mother’s house with six adults, a dog, plus two children who have only slept all night 2/5 of the time so far – it stood to reason that come morning they would be flatter than the Cheerios my son loves to stomp on.

I’d elaborate further and attempt to write something witty and laugh worthy, but if you review the phrase highlighted in bold in the previous paragraph, you will comprehend why I must attempt to attain the elusive sleep while I can.

Because at this point all I really want for Christmas are eight hours of sleep each night. Even seven. Or six.

And Mimi’s Famous Sticky Rolls.

What did your spouse/children/Santa give you today?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Twelve Days of Christmas and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to On the Ninth Day Of Christmas, Dear Santa Gave to Me……

  1. Ironic Mom says:

    That picture is gorgeous.

    What did I get today? A dinner out with my husband…and the sitter put the kids to bed. Happy Christmas!

    • Kelly K says:

      My son loves to “help” bake – which for sticky rolls means devouring the extra pecans as he carefully spreads out a few, snitches a few more. 🙂

      Your gift today sounds awesome! Sure beats the projectile vomiting another friend was “blessed” with today.

      So far we’ve steered clear on that. Knock on the proverbial wood.

      The rolls were awesome. Nobody can bake them as good as my mother.

      Thank you for the compliment on the photo. The old camera lens for my SLR camera broke (actually the contacts that hold it in place did, so it wouldn’t focus – hence the lack of photos lately on my blog) and CG and I bought a new, much better lens as our Christmas gift and it arrived Monday. I’m in love with that new lens… 🙂

  2. Pingback: On the Tenth Day Of Christmas, Dear Santa Gave to Me…… | Dances with Chaos

Leave a Reply

