On the Eighth Day Of Christmas, Dear Santa Gave to Me……

Welcome to Day 8 of The Twelve Days of Christmas (to be “read” like the song)…

I know, so incredibly original the concept blows your mind – Matrix style. This will be usurping the usual Tacklerism Tuesday and “What the frak?” Friday segments until completed.

* * *

On the eighth day of Christmas, dear Santa gave to me:

Eight sloppy snow angels,

Seven sneaky snatchings,

Six doting relatives,

Five free dinners,

Four hours of sleep,

Three spares in a row,

Two darling hellions angels,

And a brand new pack of 2 ply tee-pee.

* * *

Currently my parent’s place sports the minimal amount of snow – about a few inches – just enough to dust the ground and keep the Blah Brown hiding beneath it.

Approximately twenty minutes were required to don enough layers to traverse the North Pole – and I was still cold.  And that was inside my mother’s house…

Another fifteen to outfit Tackler in his winter duds.

Then we opened the backdoor…

Seven years in Texas does in fact thin your blood.  As the wind chilled breeze smacked my face I found myself wondering…

How had I managed to live in this climate for twenty-six years????

And now, I attempted to teach my son the “joys” of below freezing snowing frolicking.

Sadly, the number one thing The Tackler wished to accomplish was denied: Snowman construction – the powdery snow was far too dry to even form the most minuscule of snowballs.

Which left us with two options for snow playing: The Sled and The Snow Angel.

This post will discuss the latter.

And I use the term “Snow Angel” rather loosely.

The first one – the novel one – was about as perfect as one can be – much less one by an active almost four year old:

The first attempt - before they became unrecognizable frankenstein versions of themselves.

The latter ones became more and more deformed, resembling a dead body outline that was then stomped upon repeatedly by Toy Story boots instead of the initial snow angel.  Then only the lower extremities were represented as “Sliced in Half Angel” surged to the front in popularity.

Because snow angels were created for stomping upon.

Not that I can blame The Tackler.  Mobility in the multitude of layers was so restricted the basic act of sitting from a laying down position was so impossible even the founder of Abs of Steel would succumb to defeat.

As we played in the snow, I couldn't help contemplating how I survived these Siberian conditions for 26 years.

He also underwent a Glove Replacement Operation about every 90 seconds.

So while some deranged snow angel making fun was had (and sled pulling), the first snow play here paled to the Texas Snow Fun that took place last February – when the leafiest snow man ever was constructed as we stomped in the snow in our jeans, sneakers, and lightweight jackets in the barely freezing temperature.

The wet snow I’d hope would fall has now been altered to a wintry freezing rain forecast – certain to melt what little snow we have.

Let’s just hope the weather people have it wrong again, so The Tackler gets his snowman fix.

If I have to be numb, the least my home state can do is provide a white winter wonderland instead of an ice storm…..

What did your spouse/children/Santa give you today?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in The Tackler, Twelve Days of Christmas and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to On the Eighth Day Of Christmas, Dear Santa Gave to Me……

  1. educlaytion says:

    I have a friend who lived up north here for a few years and has been back in Texas ever since. She’s wearing shorts and walking around outside while I’m sitting at my computer wearing a parka. Snow angels are the best. You’ve inspired me to go make one. Maybe. It’s really cold. Nevermind about the snow angel.

    • Kelly K says:

      The snow is melting now, making it wet (finally), and much warmer outside (about 35 degrees). As long as it doesn’t all leave I’ll be OK, but if it goes brown out there, the depression will set in. After 7 years in southern Texas, I’m used to greener grass, leaves on tress, and color in a world without snow.

      It’s supposed to be 80 tomorrow back at my house. EIGHTY. This is why my toes are frozen in above freezing temps. That and the snow that sneaks into your boots because your snow pants are too short…

      Tune in for the shenanigans that took place today. 🙂

  2. bobbijaye says:

    See, I’m jealous. It’s going to be 80 here tomorrow. That is NOT Christmas weather.

    • Kelly K says:

      It will be cold by Christmas. This is pre-Christmas weather.

      I want to wear shorts.

      Although the fun had with the (finally) wet snow – because it’s melting dammit – did make up for numb toes.

      • bobbijaye says:

        NO SHORTS. Nonononononono.

        It is Christmas. It is supposed to be cold. And require boots. And hats. And gloves and coats.

        I should not have to run my air conditioner five days before Christmas. Goes against everything I believe in.

  3. Pingback: On the Tenth Day Of Christmas, Dear Santa Gave to Me…… | Dances with Chaos

Leave a Reply

