On the Sixth Day Of Christmas, Dear Santa Gave to Me……

Welcome to Day 6 of The Twelve Days of Christmas (to be “read” like the song)  – Dances with Chaos style.

* * *

On the sixth day of Christmas, dear Santa gave to me:

Six doting relatives,

Five free dinners,

Four hours of sleep,

Three spares in a row,

Two darling hellions angels,

And a brand new pack of 2 ply tee-pee.

* * *

Because:

Christmas = Family

It’s why we bite the bullet and brave the crowds and ridiculous airfares to travel halfway across the country for the holidays.

It’s why my toes have been semi-frozen for the last two days.

It’s why my children can’t move their arms or legs when venturing outside as they re-enact Ralphie’s little brother from A Christmas Story.

As we played in the snow, I couldn't help contemplating how I survived these Siberian conditions for 26 years.

It’s why I’m enveloped by the scents of sugar Christmas cookies and zucchini bread baking as I type this.

It’s why my children are basking in the glory of being in the center of attention from my dad, mother, G-ma, G-pa, sister, and brother.

In a few days my father-in-law and brother-in-law will join the mix of mass adoration.

It means life will be rough when we go home – that loss of constant attention.

But I wouldn’t change it for anything.

And I can’t wait for Mimi’s Famous Sticky Rolls.

I just wish I could feel my toes…..

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Dances with Chaos, The Tackler, Twelve Days of Christmas and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to On the Sixth Day Of Christmas, Dear Santa Gave to Me……

  1. Vicky says:

    Thanks for making me smile and feel all warm inside. Exactly the thoughts I need to hold in my head as I go out to finish the Christmas shopping today…

    • Kelly K says:

      I’m so glad it made you smile and feel warm inside, because if it’s as cold there as it is here, you can use all the warmth you can get. 🙂

      I hope you kept that Christmas spirit alive as you braved the crowds.

      Thanks for commenting!

  2. Pingback: I Want to Believe… in Santa. | Dances with Chaos

Leave a Reply

