On the Third Day of Christmas, Dear Santa Gave to Me….

Welcome to Day 3 of The Twelve Days of Christmas (to be “read” like the song)  – Dances with Chaos style……………

I know, so incredibly original the concept blows your mind – Matrix style. This will be usurping the usual Tacklerism Tuesday and “What the frak?” Friday segments until completed.

On the third day of Christmas, dear Santa gave to me,

Three spares in a row,

My "best" game of the day.

Two darling hellions angels,

And a brand new pack of 2 ply tee-pee.

Not what you were expecting?

Me either.

Tuesday was my dear friend Bobbi’s 21st birthday – a birthday so far in my past, I honestly can’t remember what I did on that day.  I’m pretty sure a bar and dancing were involved.  Perhaps even dancing on the bar.

Her only drink for the day packed a very powerful blue punch.

It’s a blur.

So what gift of awesomeness did I give Bobbi for her 21st birthday?

Me.

That’s right.  Me.

My husband took the day off work so we could celebrate sans kiddos.

It wasn’t your typical celebration.

We kicked it off around midnight on Monday, not downing shots in a bar, but with two giant bowls of salt and butter laden popcorn and a viewing of The Princess Bride.

Have they made an alternate version yet without the incredibly annoying Fred Savage interrupting all of the “good” parts???

I only drifted off once, during the Pit of Despair, yet still somehow quoted it in my sleep.

Yes, it is permanently ingrained in my brain, even though I’ve only viewed a few times since my children were born.

Tuesday brought more atypical 21st birthday fun: bowling and shooting pool.

I don’t think Bobbi and I are in danger of being drafted of the US Olympic bowling team anytime soon…….

I don't see recruitment in our future...

I was better when I had two bowling balls...

With the small exception of the three spares in a row Santa tossed my way – I bowled better when I was 33 weeks pregnant with The Tackler.

Shooting pool ran hot and cold: I was either on fire with mad slop shot skills to cream any pool shark, or going down in flames while winning the Most Scratches in a Game award.

After sufficiently embarrassing myself for the umpteenth time, we went seeking for sustenance.  Four thousand two hundred and twenty-one calories later, it was time to bake brownies and watch When Harry Met Sally – a movie she somehow hadn’t seen yet.

And still hasn’t – her VCR had other ideas.

It ate my VHS copy.

That’s right. Somehow I either don’t own it on DVD yet, or it has vanished in the alternate dimensional portal that exists in my house.  And my only copy? Devoured by her starving neglected VCR.

Instead, we watched Love Actually – on DVD.

Not your normal 21st birthday debauchery, but a celebration she claims to have greatly enjoyed.

Which was my goal.

Inhaling half a pan of brownies like crack – not so much.

What did your spouse/children/Santa give you today?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Twelve Days of Christmas and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On the Third Day of Christmas, Dear Santa Gave to Me….

  1. Katie says:

    Hasn’t seen When Harry Met Sally?? Sacrilege!

Leave a Reply

