On the First Day of Christmas, Dear Santa Gave to Me….

Welcome to Day 1 of The Twelve Days of Christmas (to be “read” like the song)  – Dances with Chaos style……………

I know, so incredibly original the concept blows your mind, Matrix style.  Tacklerism Tuesdays and “What the frak?” Fridays will return after Christmas.

On the first day of Christmas, dear Santa gave to me,

A brand new pack of 2 ply tee-pee.  

Not the best design with two young children in the house...

Because suddenly you find yourself going through toilet paper at an astronomical rate thanks to:

  1. A three and half year old who is finally potty trained  – but in an effort to thoroughly wipe his own bum – utilizes 10 – 25% of the roll following a “deposit.”  This is after also plowing through half a package of Kandoo wipes – the greatest invention ever for potty trained (or potty training) toddlers.
  2. A 15 month old who vigilantly monitors whether the bathroom door was completely closed – and should one err and leave it open – makes a beeline towards it.  The toilet paper is attacked immediately and either tossed all over the floor, or unceremoniously dumped into the potty – causing the toilet to later rebel.

What did Santa/spouse/children give to you?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Lil Diva, The Tackler, Twelve Days of Christmas and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to On the First Day of Christmas, Dear Santa Gave to Me….

  1. marinasleeps says:

    Great minds must think alike. I did the exact same thing in my blog. Well about our family going to see the city’s lighting of the tree.
    But Santa wasn’t giving anything nice.
    Funny my 1 1/2 yr old goes into the bathroom and takes a huge bite of of the toilet paper.

    • Kelly K says:

      I don’t know why, but the twelve days of Christmas has been in my head since November – something told me I had to do a blog in that style – probably the same one that knows I have very little time to actually blog in the coming weeks..

      I love yours too – it reminded me why I don’t typically attempt such things – and I only have two children.

      Lil Diva used to eat toilet paper. Now she revels in its decorating properties….

  2. Paige Morgan says:

    Too funny, I thought about doing this as well, but ultimately decided I am not good at sticking to a theme for that long (it must be the ADD). I am looking forward to your 12 days!!!

    • Kelly K says:

      I find I rather like themes – it makes me blog when I’d otherwise skip it – and I need all the accountability I can get for how crazy the coming days will be…

      Like I said, such an original idea for blogging.. 🙂 I’m having fun with it though.

  3. Vicky says:

    This morning I followed Toddler into the bathroom to catch her with Boy’s toothbrush, just about to dip it into the toilet… ugh! New toothbrushes all round, now all positioned firmly out of her reach.

Leave a Reply

