Crying Cuddly Cling Wrap – What Happens When 14 Month Old Demands You As Her Crib

The clock read-out taunts me.

1:22 AM

I am not awake by choice – as often times is the case when my Nocturnal Nature kicks into gear and 11 PM is suddenly 1 AM as I ponder the great mystery of Where The Frak Did Those Two Hours Go?

Tonight is all about Lil Diva.

CG took the first “shift.”

She stirred around 11:30 PM. He put her back down. She groaned for a bit. Then demanded attention ten minutes later.

He repeated the task a bit longer this time.

She screamed about 50 seconds after he left.

And then a third time, this time staying in there for about twenty minutes before laying her down.

Thirty seconds later he grumbled at me, “Your turn,” just as I finished brushing my teeth and prepared to crawl my exhausted self into bed.

That was at 12:20 AM, well over an hour ago.

Tonight, Lil Diva was in the You Will Snuggle With Me and Hold Me or I Will Scream Bloody Murder and Eventually Wake Up Big Brother Mode. Every movement to lay her back in crib was met with the Banshee Wail.

I finally convinced her to lay down in the guest bed with me – as I do not meet the weight limits for the crib that is also in the room.  She dozed off again, content in my arms – showing off her new (or possibly old) habit of twirling the hair above her ears in her sleep.

While it was sweet and I wished to enjoy this Snuggle Fest, my arm went numb, and I knew if I didn’t extricate myself I would likely be trapped there all night grabbing thirty minute cat naps for the entire duration.

That would not bode well for tomorrow.

Er, today.

I transferred her to the bed – waking her up the instant I dared lift her.

I put her in her crib.

She protested. Greatly.

I finally succeeded using the Cover Her With Your Hands as Wide As Possible and Hold Her Down Firmly Until She Stays Down Method – simulating the security of snuggling.

It worked.

Eventually.

After failing repeatedly earlier.

I held her tiny hand as she gripped my finger – not wanting to let me go and vice versa.

At last she was asleep.

Now the Fifteen Minute Trial Period of Sleep has passed with flying colors and I pray she stays down for the rest of the night.

If not, is it too soon to Tag Team CG back into play, cuz I am toast?

My bed is calling, so I’m hitting post and will proof read it later.

Send sleep thoughts our way….

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Lil Diva and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Crying Cuddly Cling Wrap – What Happens When 14 Month Old Demands You As Her Crib

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Crying Cuddly Cling Wrap – What Happens When 14 Month Old Demands You As Her Crib | Dances with Chaos -- Topsy.com

  2. marinasleeps says:

    Poor you and Lil Diva.

    How are you managing???

Leave a Reply

