How to Train Your Mom or Dad Via Positive Parental Reinforcement – Tacklerism Tuesday

The steps you should follow to properly train your parent

  1. Pick an activity your parent wants you to do. Preferably one carrying a reward (such as watching a movie).
  2. Inform them you really wish to partake of said activity (picking up all of your toys) but that you really really need their help.
  3. Remain firm. Pick up one toy, stare at it a while as though you fully intend to put it away, before replacing it back from whence it came.
  4. Repeat request for help.
  5. Continue steps 2-4 until parent finally caves and offers at least minimal aid.
  6. Once parent is finally participating in aforementioned activity (such as picking up baby sister’s toys), lavish them with praise.

“I am really proud of you Mommy.  I’m so proud that you’re helping me pick up.”

7.  Continue to repeat this positive praise for parent until activity is done.

Eventually, the parent should become conditioned to always help in the future.

In theory.

***********************************

Has your child repeated your words back to you in an effort to “‘train” you?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Tacklerisms and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to How to Train Your Mom or Dad Via Positive Parental Reinforcement – Tacklerism Tuesday

  1. Martha says:

    LOL, that is so cute. I love it when my daughter mimics my positive reinforcement to me. I’m a sucker. Plus, I like to think that she will use her nice words with her friends too, making me look awesome in front of the other parents!

    • Kelly K says:

      I do find it very cute.

      He also scolds his sister just like I do.

      The drawback is the negative stuff is also repeated… nothing is safe from being added to the “I will spout this out when you least expect it” bank.

  2. marinasleeps says:

    Yeah …. sometimes when I am in a hurry and I am saying, “Hurry up red light turn green.” my daughters then remind me on the importance of being patient.

    • Kelly K says:

      That is priceless.

      I haven’t had that repeated at me, but as I mutter under my breath at the idiot who just cut me off I often get a “What’s wrong, Mommy?” Or if in Klutz Mode and bang my toe against an unforgiving object, he’ll try to comfort me and say “That’s okay, Mommy. I will kiss it and make it better.”

      He also scolds me upon occasion to, sounding eerily like me or my husband.

    • Jaime Dittman says:

      we were at a stop light once and my 3 year old said “GO DUDE!” That was all me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

