The Precariously Preposterous Positions People Pass Out In – Friday’s “What the frak?” moment

Friday’s “What the frak…?” moment (WTFM) is brought to you by………..

The Precariously Preposterous Positions People Pass Out In: Because nothing says “great substitute for a cozy bed” quite like entering the dream world while sitting fully upright as children yell, screech, and crash into things around you.

I’m jealous. I fully admit it.

And flabbergasted.   Completely.

As one of the world’s lightest sleepers, I require ear plugs, about four pillows, and a bed to sleep.  I often toss in some background music while I’m at it.

So when I witness the ease of how my G-pa can literally pass out in any chair with a cacophony of noise surrounding him – I turn green with envy.

When a good friend of mine – we shall call him He Who Wears a Chicken on His Head (or HWWaCoHH for short) – somehow passed out after our Easter feast and then took a two hour nap while sitting on our couch as ten children ran amok squealing all around him – I felt as though I’d watched a segment from Ripley’s Believe It Or Not.

My dear friend Bobbi is trained to only wake up to her phone alarm or her name being called – World War III could go down six feet away from her and as long as they didn’t speak her name she’ll remain unconscious.

How were these feats humanly possible?

The closest I’ve ever come to a miracle such as these was shortly after my children were born – running on four hours of sleep over two days mixed with the Breastfeeding Oxytocin Overload Coma – I grabbed a three minute doze before my bobbing head jerked me awake.

My mother said I’ve always fought sleep.  As a baby and toddler the rule was Don’t Go To Bed Easy, Just Play Until You Pass Out.

A rule that my Lil Diva has inherited.

I went to pick her up in my gym’s childcare following Zumba class on Thursday and found this:

Have you ever been THIS tired?

Completely. Utterly. Totally passed out cold.

It was one of the most adorable “awwwwwwwww” moments I’ve ever seen.

I’m told she’d been asleep for at least twenty minutes by this point.

Proof that no matter how hard I plan or how much I stick to a schedule, my Lil Diva will continue to beat to the tune of her own very loud drum.

But still – passing out in mid-play in the center of a very loud child care and staying asleep while your brother circles you and occasionally “accidentally” bumps into you…

What the frak?!

Here is a quick clip to demonstrate the noise volume in the room.

*** It should be noted, that this is the first time she’s ever done something like that. Typically, a shoulder is required, dancing, or 1001 other tricks to get her to sleep.

Has your child (or you) ever fallen asleep in an strange position?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Lil Diva, What the frack Friday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Precariously Preposterous Positions People Pass Out In – Friday’s “What the frak?” moment

  1. emjayandthem says:

    I’m a little envious of wee children’s ability to just stop, drop, and sleep 🙂 Your babes are precious! Enjoyed the post … Cheers 🙂

    • Kelly K says:

      The stop, drop, and sleep talent is actually atypical behavior for my Lil Diva. Normally she requires at least one or all of these to get to sleep: nursing, waltzing, singing, or car ride. At the very least a shoulder and some cuddles. This is the first time she’s passed out in the middle of playing.

      I am extremely envious.

      Thank you for reading!

  2. educlaytion says:

    That’s great and she’s a cutie. I don’t want to rub it in but I am the opposite of you. I can sleep whenever I need to almost all of the time unless my brain is really racing. For years I have mastered the 15 minute sitting in a chair power nap. It’s great for those 13 hour days in the office. I may come by it honestly. My aunt once slept through a rock concert while the musician, spotlight, and fog came up the aisle next to her. Hilarious!

    • Kelly K says:

      Ok, yeah. That was totally rubbing it in. :p A tiny vengeful part of me wishes to banish you to the Fire Swamp where your sleeping powers result in your being devoured by a ROUS.

      But then I realize this world needs amusing history professors. Dammit.

      That is hysterical about your aunt. I’m wondering who the performer was…. Typically concert adrenaline will counteract any urge to sleep.

      Thanks for reading and sharing. 🙂

  3. Katie says:

    I once slept through and earthquake. Seriously. I also slept through a fire truck with sirens blaring pulling into our driveway when I was in high school (no fire — they had the wrong house), and so did my brother and dad:) I think Jake may have inherited my sleeping skills — not too long ago he slept through a jackhammer outside the window where he was napping! He’s always been a good sleeper, but rarely falls asleep in weird positions. He does like his bed.

  4. Jacqui says:

    I had the same “don’t go to bed and play until you pass out” problem as a kid… and now I’ve unfortunately I’ve passed that on to my daughter.. who never goes to bed easily! That is such a cute pic! 🙂

    • Kelly K says:

      It seems we have both passed on skills to our daughters – I swear my son wasn’t near as difficult.

      The only time bedtime is not a struggle is when her day consisted of only power naps – and short ones at that. Of course then one has to deal with the constant whining and crankiness of an overtired Lil’ Diva instead – but at least there is a small “reward.”

      I wish the photo was better, but my cell phone’s camera needed some settings changed (unbeknownst to me). It’s why I had to shoot the video – that and to capture the noise level she managed to sleep through. 🙂

      Thank you for reading!

  5. marinasleeps says:

    THAT is the cutest thing ever. My soon to be 2 yr old falls asleep with every body part on the floor except his head. His head is asleep in the air.

  6. marinasleeps says:

    THAT is the cutest thing ever. My soon to be 2 yr old falls asleep with every body part on the floor except his head. His head is asleep on the bed of his choice. So he kinda looks like his body is levitating. Its a real neat trick.

    • Kelly K says:

      A levitating trick? Very cool.

      My son often did a similar position – head on twin mattress that sits on the floor and body similar to Lil Diva’s in shot – back when he fought taking a nap but really really needed it.

      Once he fell asleep with his knee crossed over his leg, as seen here. This was the first “odd position” for Lil Diva though.

      I’ve given up the fight and we now have early bedtime instead.

      But I really really miss nap time.

      Thanks for reading!

  7. Mary says:

    My daughter’s boyfriend often falls asleep in weird places. She has a lot of fun posting the pics of him passed out on Facebook!

    • Kelly K says:

      Define “weird places?” Are we talking using the porcelain goddess as a pillow, the doghouse (the literal one, not the figurative one) for a nap, or falling face first into his soup (a la Inigo Montoya)? 🙂

      Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

