The Torturous Teething Battle – It’s Molar Time

That’s right, I’ve mentioned it in passing on several posts, but I sense I’ve glazed over the true reality from The Return of the Screaming Banshee.

A "request" disguised as a dramatic wail to be picked up.

My Lil’ Diva is teething her molars right now. One has slightly broken through, two are clearly visible just beneath the gum line, and the fourth is probably close as well, but she was so pissed off when I dared check the progress of the others, I failed to properly determine its whereabouts.

The teething lead to more drool than Turner’s Hooch.

Then the congestion started – and she despises having her nose wiped.

This initiated The Cough – which has woken Lil Diva up the last several nights: anywhere from three to eight times in a night.

And all of this laid the perfect groundwork for another double ear infection.

She just coughed again as I typed this and I now wait with bated breath to see if the Mad Dash to Repacify Before She Fully Wakes Up and is Royally Pissed Off is required.

I might have escaped being called into service.

This time.

I caved in and let the kids watch Toy Story 2 tonight – again – at least until CG got home from work.  We’d already viewed it once during The Tackler’s “quiet time” as a reward for being such a good boy today – especially at the doctor’s office.

Tonight, it was The Babysitter – something I swore I would never do.

Without it, dinner would not have been ready before bedtime, because I lack the proper dexterity to prepare cheesy potato casserole with only one hand.

I’m exhausted, have a headache, and all I want to do is have some time to write. And shower.

But I think I should choose sleep instead.

Because if I have another night where my options are to A) hold Lil Diva constantly while trying in vain to prepare a cheesy potato casserole or other dinner item or B) dare to cook dinner and set her down which causes her to oscillate from the Screaming Banshee cry to the Don’t You Love Me Mommy/Why Won’t You Hold Me Mommy pitiful cry and everywhere in between until she’s picked up again – well, I don’t think my sleep deprived brain can take much more of it.

Or my heart.

So if my blogging is sporadic for the next few days – you know why.

I just hope the molars break through before we have to ride in an airplane – because I’m told an ear infected child on a plane makes you a shoo-in for winning both the Passengers We Really Wish Had Missed This Flight and the Parents Who Don’t Know How to Quiet a Screaming Banshee awards.

So send good thoughts our way.

How did you survive The Terrible Teething Battle?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Lil Diva and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Torturous Teething Battle – It’s Molar Time

  1. Lori says:

    Oh hon! Been there, doing that! It is so hard!! I wish you a peaceful night and a calm day. Maybe they will come in all at once and you’ll be done with it!

    • Kelly K says:

      I’ve been there before too, but it was much easier when you had only one child – snuggling together for hours on end was possible because you didn’t have to stop to be Primary Butt Wiper of a toddler or could sleep in when they did because they partied all night.

      Honestly, teething is the one thing that I’ve dreaded since I found out I was pregnant again – because my children do not teethe gently. I’m hoping for just a few evil days where they all pop through as opposed to a month of sporadic evil nights and recurrent ear infections. I just hate
      seeing my children in pain and there’s nothing I can do about it.

      Last night wasn’t too bad after 1 AM – before that she woke up about five times – three times intervention was required.

      I see a lot of Pixar in my future (for The Tackler, it was Happy Feet ad nauseum). At least The Tackler will be happy.

  2. I’m also a stay-at-home mum, and know all too well about having a child you can’t put down. For the first three months of my girls life, I had her in a sling while I did EVERYTHING! I even peed with her sitting on my lap, such was the attachment. These days she’s a little more easy-going, but the teething is really tough. I just stuck to the tried and tested calpol-teething rings-bonjela holy trinity and we got through it.

    Good luck, it will get better!

    • Kelly K says:

      Both of my children were also constantly attached to me or my husband in the baby Bjorn for the first six months of life. Then they finally became mobile and a bit happier. I recall many a time where I was required to use the bathroom while still wearing them. Now they just demand to be in the room with me.

      There is no privacy when you have young children. Ever.

      My son had a rough time with his molars too, but it was much easier when I only had one child to deal with. he also had concurrent ear infections while teething and I see the same pattern developing with her.

      Although he does do an excellent job of distracting her. When he isn’t tackling her.

      Thanks for reading!

  3. marinasleeps says:

    Dude honestly … I miss those days. Is that sad?

    • Kelly K says:

      I can understand missing the mini moments containing snuggles and cuddles and smiles from a child that views you as the coolest and most important person in the world…

      But missing your child being in pain, drooling over everything, not eating like usual because their gums hurt, not napping so cranky and whiny all the time, and waking up multiple times all night long – screaming – because they’ve developed yet another ear infection and their head is ready to explode…. well then yeah.. That’s sad. 🙂

      And a little crazy. 😉

  4. awwwww….that picture of her just tugs at my heartstrings…..poor little sweetheart…

    • Kelly K says:

      Yes, I admit, that photo is very powerful – in demonstrating the Masterfulness of Lil Diva Manipulation.

      She had been perfectly happy about 5 seconds before, when I dared set her down to grab the camera in an attempt to capture something The Tackler was doing.

      Then she released a wail of discontent, refusing to move, as she tossed her head back for extra dramatic flair.

      She wasn’t hurt, hungry, dirty, or wronged by The Tackler – just pissed off that I dared set her down before she gave me her approval to do so.

      But to look at the photo – you would guess she’d just had her best friend Pinky the Penguin mercilessly ripped from her arms mid-cuddle while we stabbed her legs with the next round of vaccinations.

      That’s my Lil’ Dramatic Diva.

  5. Ironic Mom says:

    You know, I don’t really remember the teething days of my 6yo twins, which either means they weren’t that bad or I’m losing my memory. I suspect the latter.

    I agree with Shannon: that picture breaks my heart!

    • Kelly K says:

      Well, I have heard a tale or two of those parents who “didn’t really notice teething – one day there was suddenly a tooth where previously there had been none.”

      We are not that family.

      Whether it’s evil teeth or low pain tolerance – my children let me know when teeth are clawing their way through the gums.

      My guess is you were so severely sleep deprived with Twin Teethers (I shudder in horror at the mere thought), that you probably spent those days in a glazed, slightly comatose state where your brain was just too damn tired to communicate the experience from your short term memory to the long one.

      See my explanation of the photo in my response to Shannon – I swear I was not torturing her or laughing maniacally. It truly was her in an Oscar Worthy Overly Dramatic Moment.

  6. Pingback: Oh, So THAT is Why You Were Screaming… | Dances with Chaos

Leave a Reply

