When Baby Girl Wants to Party… at Midnight.

Children – just when you finally are on a schedule that works and is consistent – they toss you a mean curve ball.

It’s 4 AM.

I should not be awake.

Lil Diva had other ideas. She woke up at midnight coughing. Every time I laid her down she screamed the Banshee Wail.

After thirty minutes of that I succumbed, carried her downstairs, and caught up on Burn Notice in between the 15 minute intervals where I attempted to lull her back to sleep.

She’s congested, whether from a cold, allergies, or Molar Teething Drainage. She has a fever.  My guess is it involves an ear infection caused by aforementioned drainage/teething issues.  It took ibuprofen to get it down.

A diaper change, a snack, lots of dancing, television, cuddling, and four hours later, she’s finally back asleep.

Now it’s my turn.

I hope.

Please forgive any typos. My fingers are typing from memory because my eyes are glued shut.

Good night all.

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Lil Diva and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to When Baby Girl Wants to Party… at Midnight.

  1. Lori Dyan says:

    I hope you’re sleeping now…!

    • Kelly K says:

      I slept in until about 10. She was up a little after 9. Luckily, it’s the weekend so CG took the AM shift so I could get a little more sleep: a whopping 5.5 hours.

      He’s It tonight if we have a repeat performance.

      Thank goodness for Tag Team Parenting.

  2. Pingback: Parenting: I’m Totally Winging It | Dances with Chaos

Leave a Reply

