Thanksgiving Lesson: Always Follow Mommy Instinct

I’ve learned a valuable lesson today.

Always follow your Mommy Instinct.

If, as you’re dragging your exhausted self to bed, you have a fleeting thought that maybe you should hide the pumpkin bread instead of leaving it enclosed in a container on top of the stove, you should listen.

Wednesday, 3 PM – Measuring Madness

The Lil Diva finally succumbs to a nap, and I have the brilliant idea to have The Tackler aid me in baking pumpkin bread – a dish more necessary to my Thanksgiving than turkey.

The Tackler decked out in his baking apron, the shirt removed after a flour incident.

No really. It was actually brilliant, for a change.  The Tackler – if in the right mood – is actually a huge fan of cooking – as long as you are prepared to allow him to sample the ingredients and keep a vigilant eye that they do not come from the already measured bowl.

However, I’m convinced he bumped my elbow as I poured the sugar on purpose, dumping it into the Catch Stuff Bowl where he was allowed to taste the various spices.

Yeah. A very big fan of the sugar.

Not so much of the raw pumpkin.

Cracking eggs with “help” also leads to a lot more Shell Rescuing than usual.

Teaching him to read the recipe, how to measure the dry and wet ingredients, sifting the flour, mixing them together – it was the most enjoyable hour I’ve spent with The Tackler in ages.

Wednesday, 4:30 PM – Christmas Lights & Procrastination

The pumpkin bread was in the oven and I had a small window of time before dark – I decided to put out the Christmas lights as the weather on Thursday called for a cold front complete with rain, wind, and forty degree temperature drop. Yes, our lows have been around 70 degrees – crazy warm, even for here. Thanks to the wonderful design of “net lights,” my diligent labeling of which ones fit where, and the bonus that most were new and I didn’t have to spend two hours searching for a bulb the rendered part of a the string useless, I succeeded in accomplishing this task before dark.

Score another point for me!

As an added bonus, our next door neighbor saw us outside and inquired about our Thanksgiving plans.

Like a true procrastinator, my answer correctly illustrated how prepared I was for the holiday.  “I’m not sure. I have pumpkin bread baking, and bought some cheesy potato casserole makings, but we haven’t decided on a main course. I was going to get turkey from Rudy’s but it turns out they need more than one day’s notice.”

Why don’t you join us for Thanksgiving?” my incredibly awesome neighbor asked.

No hesitation on my part. “We’d love to!

Having had several Thanksgivings at their home in the past, I was familiar with their menu.  Her husband cooked the turkey in a smoker and their meals marked the only time I have ever had second and third helpings of turkey – I am not a turkey fan. Plus, my father-in-law and her husband have bonded and they love chatting with one another.

Rewarded once again for procrastinating. No wonder I’m habitual.

Wednesday, 6:30 PM – Why Cook When You Can Dine out

We capped off the night dining out for delicious Tex-Mex.  As did half of the town – no one wanted to waste time cooking when they’d be spending most of Thursday in the kitchen.

As an added bonus, Wednesday is when kids eat free there – I love dining out responsibly.

Wednesday, 9 PM – Conquered by Cat

The kids were in bed and asleep, but my brain was so fried every sentence I wrote smelled of “semi-comatose.” So I threw the towel and caught up on some DVR while tweeting.

There is a sentence I never thought I’d say.

My cats claimed control of my lap and I entered the I’m Exhausted But Too Tired To Move phase.

Thursday, 12:05 AM – When Mommy Brains Whispers To You…

I finally extricated myself from Shaft the Cat and went to turn off the lights. As I passed the kitchen, I glanced at the freshly baked pumpkin bread sealed in a container as it sat on top of the stove.

Maybe I should hide it.

Nah, it will be safe there. CG and father-in-law know it’s for dinner tomorrow, and The Tackler only eats cereal for breakfast.

Always go with your Mommy Instinct. Even if it seems ridiculous.

Thursday, 7:17 AM – … You Should Listen!

Semi-comatose I heard shouting downstairs. Directed at The Tackler.

And I knew.

My instinct to hide the pumpkin bread was not ridiculous or insane.

It was born of a deep seated knowledge.

The Tackler was my son.  What would I have done at age 3.5?

The answer was, something like this:

Why I will never ignore instinct to hide things again.

Hunks of pumpkin bread removed from every loaf, the finger gouged tunnels telling the tale of the destruction wrought.

So not entirely my son. I would’ve started with the already half-consumed mini loaf and hoped that no one would notice the rest went missing.

I am certain the destruction would have been more massive, had CG not been awakened by The Banshee and gone downstairs to find a guilty looking 3.5 year old standing conspicuously by the chair pushed next to the stove.

Some creative cutting will take place as I bring a lot less pumpkin bread to our awesome neighbor’s house.

And I have learned a valuable lesson.

If my Mommy Brain tells me, “Hey, maybe you should hide this even though no plausible reason appears to exist for it,” I’m damn well going to listen next time.

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

Has anyone else had Thanksgiving goodies fall victim to a child/pet/spouse?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in The Tackler and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thanksgiving Lesson: Always Follow Mommy Instinct

  1. Bobbi says:

    Good for him!

    And shame on you for having him help good yummy stuff and then making him wait. I’d have done the same thing. Heck, I do. Whenever I bake, I make extras just for the purpose of immediate eating. And come to think of it, half the stuffing didn’t MAKE it to the baking phase today…

    He must have learned from me *grin*

    • Kelly K says:

      We ate some the night before, of the mini-loaf. We always save the big ones for the meal.

      I’m told my G-ma couldn’t stop giggling for ten minutes after reading this post. My mother was also very amused. I have been informed he comes by this trait naturally, as I also started sneaking at a young age. Then the tales continued of what I did as a teen as my skills at covering my tracks improved.

      I think we might make some more soon. Not enough leftovers after father-in-law and Thanksgiving dinner to whet my appetite.

  2. Ironic Mom says:

    Too funny. I love that. It’ll just make him want to help out all the more next time you bake!

    Happy Thanksgiving! (And I’m not a turkey fan either…though I think I could drink good gravy).

    • Kelly K says:

      I hope to include him in cooking more as he gets older. Perhaps by the time he’s five he can take over for me.

      I have also been informed that he is the apple that did not fall far from my tree. My G-ma and mother regaled me of many tales of my escapades as a toddler (and, uh, teenager) when it comes to baked goods.

      I think we might have to bake it again very soon. Hopefully he’ll have as much fun this time as he did last time.

      Drink gravy? Seriously? I usually avoid it altogether. Perhaps I’ve failed to get “the good stuff.”

Leave a Reply

