It’s the Most Nostalgic Time of the Year

There’s just something about the holidays.

Or witnessing my two children change faster than I can blink as the Ludicrous Speed continues.

A sweet sibling moment.

And what does this nostalgia make me do?

Reminisce about the past.

I see so much of The Tackler in my Lil Diva. The expressions. The twinkles in their eyes.  The mischievous glint when they spot something they suddenly want more than I crave brownies.

So here is a crawling montage* I did for The Tackler’s first Christmas – back when I still had a guaranteed nap time to accomplish things.

Back before the toddler meltdowns and Testing the Terrible Three’s.

When his goal was to be mobile: first by rolling, then army crawling, then bear crawling – he never crawled “the normal” way.

When all he wanted was to get a hold of the video camera – or catch a kitty.

Which made capturing footage of him quite the challenge, as he’d stop whatever he’d be doing and immediately bolt for whoever held the video camera.

When he was my only baby.

I love you, my Tackler. My big man.

*Cameo appearances include: Me, CG (playing guitar), MacGyver the Cat, G-ma, G-pa, and Bobbi.  Music is “Footloose” by Kenny Loggins. Or “Rock You Like a Hurricane” as performed by CG.

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in The Tackler, Video and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s the Most Nostalgic Time of the Year

  1. Veronica says:

    *tear* damnit why cant they slow down. it goes by so fast. too cute.

    • Kelly K says:

      I know. Ironic Mom tweeted why I think it feels this way:

      Parenting Time Zone: it feels 2hrs later in eve + 2hrs earlier in morning than it really is.

      So we lose about 4 hours every day, 28 hours a week, and almost 2 months a year to PTZ. No wonder time flies and the time doesn’t exist to get everything done.

Leave a Reply

