Tacklerism Tuesday: Why Three Year Olds are Good Entertainment

I have two Tacklerisms to share today.  Both are proof that children can provide excellent entertainment upon occasion.

The first:

“I lost my big Woody behind the couch.”

This simple statement touched the Gutter Brain nerve in me, and quite perplexed The Tackler – confused what I found so hysterical about him losing his toy Woody doll (from Toy Story) behind the couch.

He finds these glasses hysterical.

Woody was rescued shortly thereafter, thanks to Go-Go Gadget Mommy Arms.

The second Tacklerism requires a bit of background.

I have a new Droid Incredible phone – only several weeks old. Supposedly one of the cool features is to hit the voice button and it will directly call the person you said.  All you have to do is then hit “ok” to send the call through. No hunting through address books required.

While this feature does appear to do well while searching the internet, when you attempt to speak someone from your address book, the thing acts just like The Tackler: pretends it doesn’t understand one thing you’ve said, and tries to call someone else.

The previous day, I had repeatedly attempted to call Papa Murphy’s to order a pizza to pick up on my way home from the gym.

“Call… Papa… Murphy’s..”

A random number not in my address book would appear.

“Call… Papa… Murphy’s..”

My cousin would show up, whose name was neither Murphy or anything sounding like what I’d said.

“Call… Pa-pa… Murph-ees..”

Once again it failed. In a big way.

Finally I typed the letters “P-A-P” and called them in two seconds.

The point is, I shouldn’t have had to.

So the next day we’re on the way to the gym when I hear behind me:

“Call…. Papa… Murphy’s.  Call… Pa-pa.. Murphy’s. Call… Papa.. Murpheeeees.”

Delivered in the exact cadence and tone that I used with my phone the day before.

The kid is a brilliant thespian in making.

Nope. No bias here.

This is also a perfect demonstration on why I use words like, “frak” and “shnikeys” instead of your standard curse words.

Or my dear sweet boy would say words capable of causing blushing sailors. Or instigate threats of “washing one’s mouth out with soap.”

Anyone else have an Expert of Mimicry out there?

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Tacklerisms and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tacklerism Tuesday: Why Three Year Olds are Good Entertainment

  1. Vicky says:

    Toddler makes animal noises perfectly – barking, baaaing, roaring and growling – she has different roars for tigers, lions and dinosaurs. And she picks up a tune instantly.

    • Kelly K says:

      That’s so cool. I’m afraid my children may have inherited my inability to carry a tune to save my life. Although Lil Diva might have hope as my singing tends to make her cry – she loves Bobbi’s singing…

      Lil Diva is also working on her animal noises, but neither child has them completely nailed.

      Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

