Top Ten Exciting Things I Did This Weekend

Top Ten Exciting* Things I Did This Weekend

10.  Zumba class.  Sure, I do it almost every weekend, plus Thursdays too, but I love Zumba.  I love to dance and Zumba makes the hour fly by.  Added bonus: I burned 700 calories.

9. Went gathering, sorted, and completed six loads of laundry.  Sadly, still have about four loads left.

8. Shopped and bought four bags of clothes for Lil’ Diva and The Tackler – mostly “winter” clothes. Now they have more than two winter outfits that actually fit them.  In my defense, it’s been 80 degrees outside….

7. Cleaned the game room/playroom. Okay, not exciting at all.  However, I did get the Tackler to help, it’s vacuumed and I can take it off of my To Do List.  That is exciting.

6. Located my heating pad. Exciting only because I needed to use it.

5.  Watched TV – a necessity because our hard drive filled up and I had to clear off space.  Still, I have issues deleting shows – I’m a TV show hoarder.  Yes, I should probably seek therapy about it.

4.  Watched Toy Story 3 with The Tackler.  Okay, so it was actually on Thursday, not this weekend, but I have wanted to do that since it was in theaters last summer.  I was shocked to find tears in my eyes at the end and horribly embarrassed – until I discovered almost every mother teared up at the same part.  The only thing missing was popcorn – I was afraid to wake up Lil Diva – who held off awakening until the credits rolled.

3.  Had insanely stressful dinner out: The Tackler was an angel focused on his food while Lil Diva was Supremely Pissed Off.  This resulted in a very stressed out and snippy CG – who absolutely hates it when he can’t Fix It.  Only exciting if viewed as contest for Can We Finish Eating Before We All Snap – which The Tackler would’ve won.

2.  Went to see UT Theatre production of Fight on campus.  Loved the show, loved the set, loved getting out for the night.  At one point in the show, there was an actual boxing fight where the winner was not predetermined.  It was scored as it happened and the audience was encouraged to join in.  I began cheering for The Opponent (versus the main character) because I happened to be sitting in her corner.  I managed to get my section chanting for her, then the rest of the theatre countered with chants of “Dan-ni, Dan-ni” for the lead.  Afterward, the writer/director thanked me for cheering for opponent as she feared no one would.  It was almost as nice as….

1. When buying tickets for the show I was given the student rate, even though I haven’t been one for 11 years. Helped greatly by the fact that I did not have two young children in tow and did not carry a diaper bag. Still, GO ME!

*The term “exciting” is used loosely.  Very loosely.

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Top 10 List and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Top Ten Exciting Things I Did This Weekend

  1. Katie says:

    I think that all qualifies as exciting! The most exciting part of my weekend was having enough energy to make pumpkin bread on Sunday afternoon. At 14 weeks pregnant, I consider that extremely exciting:)

    • Kelly K says:

      Mmmmmmmmm…. pumpkin bread. I will be making that next week, probably twice. I can do Thanksgiving without turkey, or stuffing, or mashed potatoes, but I must have pumpkin bread. Last year I recall it took me two hours just to get it into the oven, thanks to constant Tiny Cranky Diva interruptions and my obsessive compulsiveness to measure out the ingredients precisely – a challenge to do while wearing said child.

      Also a necessity at Christmas – and The Tackler loooooooooooves it too. I have a feeling Lil Diva will be the same.

  2. Stephanie says:

    I cried at Toy Story also. Completely understandable. 🙂 And getting a student rate for something is supremely cool. Kind of like being carded when you are over 30. Awesome! LOL, I can totally see it in you though. Its hard to believe you have two kids!!

    I hope the clothes shopping was fun! I always loved getting Anna new things, as long as the cost didn’t stress me out!

    • Kelly K says:

      I am surprised how many people cried at Toy Story 3. I thought surely I was being overly hormonal, because it isn’t like anybody died like in most Disney movies…

      It’s that “my baby is growing up” mentality that gets us mothers I guess.

      Thanks for reading Steph!

Leave a Reply

