Daylight Savings Time is The New Communism

It is a wonderful idea.. in theory.

Gain an hour of sleep. Fabulous!

However, if you have any young children, the reality is more like communism: good on paper, but it disintegrates to shreds in real life.

So whenever some person – who obviously does not have a child under the age of five –  dares to ask, “What are you going to do with your extra hour of sleep?” I restrain the urge to bestow The Death Glare upon them for their ignorance.

Instead, I smile through gritted teeth.  “I plan on sleeping – if my children through some miracle observe our arbitrary numbers on these digital devices we call clocks, instead of the bright light of the sun shining into their rooms.  Through blackout curtains.”

I was never a fan of time changes. That extra hour was not just an extra hour.  If it was, we’d get to keep it. Instead, it is a loan.

A loan given to us every fall, then brutally repossessed from us again in the spring.  Like snatching away a treasured Christmas gift on Valentine’s Day, just for sheer diabolical joy of it.

Since becoming a mother, I have grown to despise time changes  Currently, the score of The Measurement of Time My Child/ren Follow is:

Time Change: 0

Time the Sun Rises: 8

With the time change, that extra hour of light in the evening is cruelly taken away, and with it, the park time we liked to have following nap time, but before dinner.

And it’s tacked on to the morning, because I really needed them to be up at 6:30 AM. Or earlier.

Have I mentioned lately, that I hate mornings?

If I had my way and was Supreme Ruler of The World or At Least of The State I Live In –  I would ban the return to “normal time.” We already have Daylight Saving time 75% of the year – let’s finally give up the other 25%.

At least until my kids are teenagers.

Note: In a twist of irony, WordPress believes it is tomorrow, even though my trusty clock now displays 11:13 PM “normal time.”

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in sleep deprivation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Daylight Savings Time is The New Communism

  1. Maija says:

    I completely understand. All three of my kids were up before 6am this morning (day two of daylight savings). This will certainly mean there will be meltdowns tonight right around dinner time, bath time and homework time – at least for the two older ones who don’t nap.

    I also hate that it will soon be dark by 530pm.

    Just one more thing designed by a boardroom full of men who’ve never had to get up with a time-confused child 🙂

    • Kelly K says:

      We need to start a movement to keep daylight savings time year round.. Lil Diva was up at 5 AM today…

      I remember when I lived in the northern US, Standard Time in winter meant: A) It was dark when you got up, and still dark when you got to work
      B) The sun set just before you leave work, so if you were stuck indoors, you never saw the sun on weekdays.

      At least in Texas we have a little more daylight, it isn’t dark until 6 PM. However, it means the end to park time with Daddy after work – which I hate.

      And those 5-6 AM awakenings..

  2. I’m fickle. I like the change in the morning when the kids go out to the bus. I dislike it in the evenings when I lose that hour (or more) of go-run-off-energy-in-the-backyard time for the kids. Also, it means more treadmill less neighborhood jogs for me. Hmmm … it is like communism. (Awesome comparison, by the way.)

    Amy

    • Kelly K says:

      Amy – That one hour of energy burning off time following school or nap (in theory) is vital. We have a little more daylight here (until 6), but it means we lose Daddy Park Time, when I could either work on dinner, run errands, or just have a few minutes to myself because my children didn’t nap. Or family time.

      They use The Bus Reason as a flimsy excuse for keeping standard time. I know it feels better to not have kids waiting in dark, but I remember as a child the only thing that mattered was if it was dark when I had to wake up. Besides, kids in Alaska attend school more than the four hours of daylight they get all winter… If they can survive traveling in the dark, why can’t we?

      Honestly, anything to get rid of having my children awake before 6 AM.. 🙂

      See, total communism…

      Thanks for reading!

  3. Vicky says:

    Here in England our clocks went back on 31st October so we’ve had a week to adjust. Can report we are NOT adjusted! Am considering floodlighting the park (it’s right next to our house) so we can still go after school instead of having manic-we’ve-been-trapped-in-classrooms-sitting-down-all-day children running riot through the house. We are all hungry at the wrong times, tired/awake at the wrong times and the dark evenings make we want to hibernate. Sunset is predicted to be at 4.22pm today. Ugh.

    • Kelly K says:

      Wow.. 4:22 PM.. That is really early for dark to fall. One benefit to living south in Texas now (as opposed to over 1100 km north), is we get about an hour and 45 minutes of extra daylight on the shortest day, compared to where I used to live in IA, where it was dark by 4:42 PM.

      I can’t imagine three kids cooped up with that manic energy. We often visit indoor play places here for that precise reason.

      My children go by the sun, so they are unlikely to “adjust” too far.

      Ditto on the hungry/tired/awake at the wrong times.

      Ban time changes! Keep daylight savings time!

      Thanks for stopping by, Vicky!

  4. Pingback: Time Change… Again: Friday’s “What the frak?” Moment | Dances with Chaos

Leave a Reply

