How The Walking Dead Led to Extreme Sleep Deprivation

I slept through a thunder storm that rolled through during the wee hours of Tuesday morning.  If you haven’t read a blog about my sleeping habits, you should know I could probably hear a pin drop I’m an insanely light sleeper. Even with ear plugs and a pillow over my head.

Just ask my husband.

I was beyond exhaustion.

Why was I so sleep deprived?

Michael Jackson's Thriller

Thriller zombies are the one exception.

Mostly due to zombies.

Not the Thriller ones.  They don’t apply. They dance.

No, this was AMC’s fault for a new airing a new TV series that I recorded in the place of Mad Men.  I didn’t know it was about zombies until it was too late.  By the time I looked up what I was watching on the TV Guide and saw “Walking Dead,” the damage was already done.

So much for dreaming of Don Draper.

Every time I closed my eyes, I thought “ZOMBIES!” as images flashed into my head.

Don’t ask why dancing Thriller zombies don’t transform me a someone so paralyzed I don’t want to walk down my hallways alone.  I suspect it has something to do with an addiction to The Making of Thriller video as a child.

I turned on the TV in futile attempt to distract myself from Zombie thoughts because telling myself not to instantaneously popped them to the forefront of my brain.  I went for He’s Just Not That Into You which I had managed to record via homemade DVR before my evil cable company took away my HBO.  I’d managed to watch it once before and it was about as far as I could get from zombies minus a Chuggington episode.  I figured fifteen minutes and I’d be good to go.

But every time I turned off the TV, I thought, “I’m exhausted, I can barely keep my eyes open.  Just do not think about zombies.”

And with that – POOF – zombies were back on the brain.

It was a never ending loop.

I ended up watching the entire movie.  Until 2:30 AM.

On a night that I was so tired I could even put two thoughts together to blog at 10:30 PM.

So thanks to zombies, I slept through my first thunderstorm in about four years.

Nice to know they’re good for something.

Besides mimicking as you perform a variation of the Thriller dance at your gym’s Spooktacular in front of all the attendees. 🙂

Note: If you don’t have a fear of zombies, The Walking Dead looks to be another excellent AMC original series – which is part of how I got sucked in before I discovered what it was.

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Video and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

