Smartphone Addiction: My New Droid

I’ve always wanted a Droid.  A confirmed Star Wars geek as far back as my memory goes, what could be more perfect than having your own Droid, except perhaps having your own Death Star?

Tonight my long deep seated childhood wish finally came true.

I crossed the line and went from a cell phone that was used for simply talking or crappy photo taking (in a pinch) to my very first smartphone: The Droid Incredible.

It's not a Death Star, but it'll do...

The biggest issue is simply understanding the set up: I’m not sure where things are hidden, or how to navigate everything.  The software setup is a bit evil in how it plays “opposite” with some buttons compared to the iPod, which is as close as I’ve come to a smartphone.

But the more I play with it, the more I want to find out what else it can do.

Which is why the clock is about to strike 1 AM and I’m still up.

In my defense, so is CG, who is positively giddy over his Droid X.  I am slightly jealous of the X, but as I was still on the fence about moving to a smartphone and his drool for one nearly rivaled Lil Diva’s when teething, I capitulated and yielded the superior model – which was free with the purchase of my Incredible.

And if you’re lost on these names, don’t feel bad. I had no clue what any of this meant a week ago.  Smartphones were an enigma.  I had difficulty even turning the power on, as I thought they would all work like the iPod (not true).

As I typed this, he found out something else the phone does that we were unaware of.

It’s like having an early Christmas.

Now the phone’s enter their true test: durability.

This is my fifth cell phone fifteen years – I’m not a Must Have New Phone person, I’m a Run the Thing Into the Ground Until It Is Busted or It Won’t Work with The New Plan person.  Two of my previous upgrades were because: A) It was an analog phone and couldn’t do digital at all and B) I needed an unlimited night and weekend option (for my move to Texas) not possible on my old digital plan and my 4.5 year old Star Tac wasn’t capable with tracking that.

So, I have a high standard. Let’s see if my cute little Droid can live up to it.  So far, I’m LOVING the voice search feature as I hate typing on those tiny keyboards.

Oh!  Angry birds game application!

I finally get the “Crackberry” thing, if it is even half as addictive as this…

Oooooh… I can trim mp3s for ringtones…. Finally!

Hopefully I will be able to pull myself away long enough to write Friday’s “What the frack?” segment.

I wonder if it will be about kids or phones…

Time to tuck my Droid in bed.

Night all!

About Kelly K @ Dances with Chaos

Kelly K has learned the five steps to surviving of motherhood: 1) Don't get mad. Grab your camera. 2) Take a photograph. 3) Blog about it. 4) Laugh. 5) Repeat. She shares these tales at Dances with Chaos in order to preserve what tiny amount of sanity remains. You can also find her on her sister blog, Writing with Chaos (www.writingwithchaos.com) sharing memoir and engaging in her true love: fiction writing. It's cheaper than therapy.
This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Smartphone Addiction: My New Droid

  1. I know you’ve had your phone for some time now, but I got an Android phone (Google/HTC Nexus One) just before July 4th and I spent a shocking amount of that 4-day weekend glued to the phone. I feel deeply, deeply in love.

    I was just thinking last night as I intoned “Set alarm for 5:20 am” and it just DID IT (which I love – every. freaking. time.) that it really is like having a little computer from Star Trek, and how awesome is that?! Getting to set my alarm a la Star Trek is about the only thing taking some of the sting out of that #$%#^@$ early hour.

Leave a Reply

